Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Djam Karet: Sonic Celluloid

One of the more prolific American progressive rock bands over the last thirty years, Californians Djam Karet is back with their eighteenth studio release titled Sonic Celluloid.

I first became familiar with the band upon reviewing their 2010 release Heavy Soul Sessions which I enjoyed very much. Truth be told I have not heard many of their releases so I was very much looking forward to their latest platter.

The music is certainly keyboard and synth heavy with generous helpings of Moog, Hammond and Mellotron. The synths often arrive in waves, gentle washes or with a more pronounced heaviness, all lending towards a certain space rock element although in a more serene and pastoral setting. The sounds are generally quite melodic and the album, although entirely instrumental, save for the occasional voice sample is very easy to listen to. For a generally cinematic listening experience Sonic Celluloid pushes all the right buttons. The mixture of pastoral keyboard/synth passages and edgier guitar grooves will settle deep within your consciousness if given half the chance.

Swells of synths begin "Saul Says So", a sublime concoction of soothing space rock sounds. The beat starts as Mellotron strings can be heard and the bass becomes fully realized in the mix. More laid back spaciness can be heard in "Forced Perspective" as noodling guitar motifs unravel over billows of synths and a solid rhythmic groove. Fusion style lead guitar squelches over an electronic dominated soundscape and swirling synth textures in the trippy "Long Shot", another fine track. The acoustic guitar shines in "No Narration Needed" while a more metallic edge can be heard in the spacey "Numerous Mechanical Circles" and the Floydian guitar stylings of "Oceanside Exterior", both excellent tracks.

Whether you are a fan of keyboard or guitar instrumental rock, Sonic Celluloid will provide hours of enjoyment. Just be prepared to be submerged in all its cosmic goodness.

Track Listing:
1. Saul Says So (6:06)
2. Forced Perspective (4:29)
3. Long Shot (4:13)
4. No Narration Needed (5:53)
5. Numerous Mechanical Circles (4:02)
6. Oceanside Exterior (4:31)
7. Au Revoir Au RÍve (4:16)
8. Flashback (3:40)
9. Lower (2:58)
10. The Denouement Device (4:40)

Added: August 30th 2017
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 1172
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by