Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Incantation: Profane Nexus

Sometimes, you just get in the mood for some good old-fashioned death metal, and who better to deliver that than New Jersey's own Incantation, here making their return to their original label Relapse Records for their 10th full length album Profane Nexus. Mixed & mastered by none other than the legendary Dan Swano, you just know right off the bat that Profane Nexus is going to deliver big time, and it does exactly that. Featuring 11 brutal new songs, this new album crushes from the start and never lets up, the face melting barrage of "Muse" kicks things off in high gear, the surprisingly groove laden rhythms driving some monstrous riffs and John McEntee's venomous growls. "Rites of the Locust" ups the speed ante, jackhammer drum blasts flying under raging riffs and severe whammy bar theatrics, while the more doom encrusted dirge "Visceral Hexahedron" slows things down to a near crawl, the distortion just dripping off the mountains of riffs courtesy of McEntee & Sonny Lombardozzi. Some of these tunes are just so brutal & savage, such as "The Horns of Gefrin" and "Lus Sepulcri", but it's the doom laden, massive death metal crunch of "Messiah Nostrum", "Omens to the Altar of Onyx", and "Ancients Arise", the three killers that close out the album, that provide for the best moments here on Profane Nexus, Incantation approaching Nile or Immolation styled intensity with some of the heaviest riffs of the whole bunch.

This is heavy, heavy stuff here, Incantation proving they are still one of the leaders of cavernous death metal and showing no signs of slowing down one bit. Recommended.

Track Listing
1. Muse 05:11
2. Rites of the Locust 03:07
3. Visceral Hexahedron 05:16
4. The Horns of Gefrin 03:47
5. Incorporeal Despair 03:20
6. Xipe Totec 01:02
7. Lus Sepulcri 04:26
8. Stormgate Convulsions from the Thunderous Shores of Infernal Realms Beyond the Grace of God 02:13
9. Messiah Nostrum 04:20
10. Omens to the Altar of Onyx 03:56
11. Ancients Arise 06:00

Added: August 30th 2017
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 1575
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by