Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Light Freedom Revival: Eterniverse Deja Vu

John Vehadija is a Canadian singer/songwriter hailing from Vancouver, British Columbia. Light Freedom Revival (LFR) is his latest project where he has assembled some top notch musicians. We have Vehadija (lead vocals, acoustic guitar), Billy Sherwood (drums, bass, guitars, keyboards), Oliver Wakeman (piano and additional lead keyboards), Eric Gillette (lead guitar) and Marisa Frantz (harmony vocals).

With musicians such as these you may be expecting a complex slice of prog but that is not the case here. What you do get is very well executed proggy flavoured rock with excellent lead vocals and classy musicianship. There is a poppy sheen bathing some of these songs but don't let that scare you as rock is the order of the day.

The album is titled Eterniverse Deja Vu and it is a concept of sorts relating to Vehadija's mystical views of the universe. The lyrics and themes are at times reminiscent of something that Jon Anderson might come up with.

Soaring neo flavoured guitar highlights the first track "New Lightspace Age". It's all very well played with an ultra-catchy vocal melody. More addicting vocals can be heard in the melodic "An Idea Of Freedom" and the uplifting and melodic "Where Words Fail" where Sherwood's bass is heavy in the mix. The folk pop of "Form Hope" featuring soaring female harmony vocals from Frantz and the catchy title track are two more excellent tunes. The accessible pop of "Go Amplify The Feeling" has a nice keyboard solo from Wakeman whereas "Place Of Power" is a moodier piece highlighted by its lush keyboard sounds.

Special kudos as well to the fantastical artwork courtesy of Ed Unitsky. As usual he does a first rate job.

While Eterniverse Deja Vu may not be adventurous enough for some progheads I really enjoyed its wonderful melodies and positive vibes. Hopefully this won't be a one-off and we will hear more from this project in the near future.

Track Listing:
1. New Lightspace Age (4:17)
2. An Idea Of Freedom (4:58)
3. Where Words Fail (4:03)
4. And Dream And Dream Again (4:41)
5. Form Hope (4:31)
6. Eterniverse Deja Vu (5:24)
7. They Fit You In (4:18)
8. Go Amplify The Feeling (4:29)
9. Starting Over (4:53)
10. Place Of Power (6:02)
11. Stay Strong With Me (5:41)
12. Positive Light Code (5:12)
13. Enjoy The Now (5:54)

Added: August 30th 2017
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 2242
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by