Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Demon Eye: Prophecies and Lies

From North Carolina comes Demon Eye, a four piece occult metal band whose new album Prophecies and Lies is one that needs to find itself on your immediate radar. Citing influences as Black Sabbath, Deep Purple, Pentagram, Iron Maiden, and Judas Priest, their sound can best be described as vintage hard rock & doom colliding with the best of the NWOBHM, and their latest release contains plenty of exciting moments of classic metal. "In the Spider's Eye" blends Thin Lizzy styled twin guitar harmonies with full on Sabbath stomp, while the mystical lyrical imagery of "The Waters and the Wild" and "The Redeemer" are a perfect match for the retro metal musical attack. Guitarist/vocalist Erik Sugg has a nasally, high pitched wail that is a great fit for the bands music, squeezing in between tasty twin guitars and pounding drums on "Kismet" as well as the rumbling proto-metal of "Infinite Regress". Visions of Sad Wings of Destiny era Judas Priest as well as vintage Pentagram pop up on the crushing "Politic Devine", and lead guitarist Larry Burlison rips into some fiery solos on the kick ass "Vagabond", another treat for fans of early Priest as well as Iron Maiden and Thin Lizzy. Drummer Bill Eagen rumbles along in fine form underneath some heavy riffing and booming bass courtesy of Paul Walz on the epic closer "Morning's Son", an uptempo & fun song that allows the whole band to really cook and close out the album on a really high note.

Released on Soulseller Records and recorded by Corrosion Of Conformity's Mike Dean, Prophecies and Lies is an album that should make quite a stir and hopefully strike a chord with people much like those early albums from Ghost and Night Demon. Demon Eye have not miss this one!

Track Listing
1. The Waters And The Wild 04:07
2. In The Spider's Eye 03:35
3. The Redeemer 03:41
4. Kismet 04:22
5. Infinite Regress 02:40
6. Dying For It 03:05
7. Politic Devine 03:41
8. Power Of One 03:34
9. Vagabond 03:54
10. Prophecies And Lies 04:24
11. Morning's Son 07:09

Added: August 29th 2017
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 1242
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by