Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Quiet Riot: Road Rage

With the death of lead vocalist Kevin DuBrow back in 2007, the world probably figured '80s metal act Quiet Riot had seen its last days, but lo and behold drummer Frankie Banali decided a few years later to resurrect the band despite the fact that no original members remain. Alongside mainstay bassist Chuck Wright, guitarist Alex Grossi, and new vocalist James Durbin, the band have just released their brand new album for Frontiers Records, titled Road Rage. Durbin is actually a very new addition to the band, the former American Idol finalist replaced Seann Nicols (who recently replaced Jizzy Pearl) in what seems like a forever revolving door of vocalists after the passing of DuBrow. As for Road Rage, it's pure '80s styled commercial hard rock/hair metal, and while not sounding exactly like the bands Metal Health heyday, it certainly will appeal to fans of Ratt, Warrant, or any other band from that era. Despite the occasional cheese factor, there are some highlights here, such as the bluesy heavy rock of "Roll This Joint", the moody "Freak Flag", the nasty wah-wah licks of "Wasted", and the groove laden "Shame", but so much of Road Rage just lacks that 'wow' factor, which, to be frank, Quiet Riot just never really had other than that quick moment when Metal Health was first released. Grossi is a more than capable guitarist, and he does throw in a few cool riffs and tasty solos, but it's not his album to shine, instead the songs take center stage alongside Durbin, who has a fine voice that mainly settles in the higher register.

For those who just never 'got' Quiet Riot back in the day, Road Rage isn't going to change your mind one bit, and for the casual fan there's just not enough here to elevate this beyond the 'been there, done that', but die hards will certainly find plenty to enjoy here in this trip down '80s memory lane.

Track Listing
1. Can't Get Enough
2. Getaway
3. Roll This Joint
4. Freak Flag
5. Wasted
6. Still Wild
7. Make a Way
8. Renegades
9. The Road
10. Shame
11. Knock em Down

Added: August 12th 2017
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 958
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by