Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Prospekt: The Illuminated Sky

Back in 2013 we raved about the debut Sensory Records release The Colourless Sunrise from UK progressive metal act Propekt, and they have returned from a quiet slumber four years later with The Illuminated Sky, another thrilling genre release that is instantly one of the must hear albums of 2017. The band have gone through a few member changes, with the current line-up consisting of Lee Luland (guitar), Michael Morris (vocals), Rox Capriotti (keyboards), Blake Richardson (drums), and Phil Wicker (bass), joined on a few tracks for the album by guitar hero Greg Howe and vocalist Marc Hudson of DragonForce.

Prospekt once again deliver some pretty hefty, technical, and melodic progressive metal this time around, as the band combine their Dream Theater & Symphony X influences to form a truly lethal sound that features soaring vocals, intricate rhythms, a backdrop of symphonics, and blazing guitar work. "Titan" sees the band diving into some crushing arrangements, Capriotti's keyboards orchestral alongside Luland's blistering solos and super crunchy riffing, while the lengthy title track is just a perfect example of exciting and virtuoso progressive metal, Morris instantly making his presence felt as a vocal force to be reckoned with. The more atmospheric "Beneath Enriya" combines King Crimson styled counterpoint with the drama of Dream Theater, while "In the Shadows of the Earth" rampages at abreakneck pace, acrobatic drumming flailing away underneath complex riffing and commanding vocal lines. Howe joins the fun on the 9+ minute jaw dropper that is "Alien Makers of Discord", another example of insane progressive metal that sees the band firing on all cylinders, a must hear for any lover of guitar dominated metal. Luland shows off his neo-classical skills on the majestic "Cosmic Emissary", and the closing, symphonic epic "Where Masters Fall" sees Hudson appear to do vocal battle with Morris in a fitting finale to this outstanding album.

The Illuminated Sky basically has it all, compelling, dramatic arrangements, virtuoso guitar playing, killer vocals, tight yet acrobatic rhythms, and plenty of majestic keyboards. Oh yeah, and the songs are plenty memorable and filled with jaw dropping musical passages. What more could any prog-metal fan want? Just go out and get this's that simple!

See more about this release on our recent YouTube show!

Track Listing
1. Ex Nihilo 02:36
2. The Illuminated Sky 07:42
3. Titan 04:38
4. Distant Anamnesis 01:31
5. Beneath Enriya 06:57
6. In The Shadows of The Earth 05:35
7. Alien Makers of Discord (feat Greg Howe) 09:03
8. Cosmic Emissary 07:11
9. Akaibara 05:10
10. Where Masters Fall (feat Marc Hudson) 11:39

Added: July 27th 2017
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 3057
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by