Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Google Ads

Gov't Mule: Revolution Come...Revolution Go

The Mule are back with another new album, titled Revolution Come...Revolution Go, a very strong collection of songs that is one of the most varied releases the band have put out to date. Though you'll get plenty of their patented '70s styled bluesy hard rock, with all of Warren Haynes' outside projects these last few years, a lot of those styles were bound to bleed into Gov't Mules' music eventually, and we see that here. Mixed in with the muscular heavy rock you also get a wealth of jam, some blues, jazz, country rock, R&B, and some good old American indie rock. Of course, plenty of sizzling guitar work from the leader, as well as his strong vocals, with the rest of the band, who include drummer Matt Abts, keyboard player/guitarist Danny Louis, and bassist Jorgen Carlsson, also putting in fine performances. It's an overall very classy record.

Kicking off with two upbeat heavy rockers, "Stone Cold Rage" and "Drawn That Way", immediately sets the stage, Haynes' meaty riffs and searing solos leading the charge, but the memorable melodies click with your ears right away. The more atmospheric and emotional blues rocker "Pressure Under Fire" shows the range of Warren's vocals, supported nicely by some Hammond organ and tasty guitar licks, while "The Man I Want to Be" blends Jimi Hendrix styled psychedelia with a laid back jazzy blues feel, again Haynes' emotional vocals digging deep. The more folky "Traveling Tune" has a strong country feel, and atmospheric pop can be heard on the dreamy "Thorns of Life". Remember that slice of Americana I spoke about earlier? The band dive head first into more roots flavored material on "Deams & Songs", where blues, country, folk, and R&B collide for some lush & alluring melodies. "Sarah, Surrender" blends funk and R&B, a tune with a great groove to go along with Warren's catchy vocal and more of Louis' smoky Hammond tones, but the band lurch back with some heavier riffs on the bubbling title track, Carlsson's acrobatic bass lines driving the band into heavy rock, blues, and funk waters. Jimmie Vaughan guests on the nasty blues-rocker "Burning Point", and the more meditative "Easy Times" is a sizzling slow blues number that once again displays Haynes' excellent guitar & vocal skills. The regular part of the album concludes with the haunting "Dark Was the Night Over on the bonus disc you get a few live in the studio and alternate takes of a few of the main songs, but more importantly three additional new songs, like the groove laden chunk of "What Fresh Hell", a real throwback to the bands first few albums, the Free influenced rocker "Click-Track", and the moody, Bad Company-ish "Outside Myself". All three are excellent tunes and just as strong as the main tracks. Overall, Revolution Come...Revolution Go is another fine release from Gov't Mule, showing the full arsenal of their songwriting and musical abilities. Those expecting a full on assault of heavy riffs and solos like the old days might be a little disappointed, but to be honest this version of the band will instantly have more appeal to a wider variety of music fan, as there's a little something for everyone here. Well done.

Track Listing
1) Stone Cold Rage
2) Drawn That Way
3) Pressure Under Fire
4) The Man I Want to Be
5) Traveling Tune
6) Thorns of Life
7) Dreams & Songs
8) Sarah, Surrender
9) Revolution Come, Revolution Go
10) Burning Point (featuring Jimmie Vaughan)
11) Easy Times
12) Dark Was the Night, Cold Was the Ground

Bonus CD
1) What Fresh Hell
2) Click-Track
3) Outside Myself
4) Revolution Come, Revolution Go (alternate version)
5) The Man I Want to Be (live in studio version)
6) Dark Was the Night, Cold Was the Ground (live in studio version)

Added: July 4th 2017
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 732
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by