Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Mastelotto, Pat & Markus Reuter: FACE

Pat Mastelotto (King Crimson, Stick Men, Mr. Mister) and Markus Reuter (Stick Men, Crimson ProjeKCt, TUNER) are two of the most imaginative musicians in progressive music right now. They are building a body of work that is really quite impressive and every time the two of them work together the results are outstanding. As to be expected their new album FACE is an impressive release.

There are so many instruments at play here it is really hard to keep track but the amazing thing is the music is so cohesive with a very nice flow overall. Sure there are lots of dynamic rhythmic shifts and odd meters but these guys pull it off with great aplomb, never sounding overly self-indulgent. In other words this stuff makes sense while still offering plenty of intriguing musicianship and shifting soundscapes to keep fans of complex progressive music very happy.

The album is one thirty-five minute track, but trust me you will never get bored. From delightfully melodic background voices to twisty soundscapes where the music changes at the drop of a hat and where the unexpected is the norm, this stuff is sure to invigorate even the most jaded progressive rock fan. Don't take my word for it you just need to hear this for yourself and prepare to be impressed.

The players:

Markus Reuter (touch guitars, bass guitar, electric guitar, acoustic guitars, melodica,
grand piano, bulbul tarang, omnichord, synthesizer)
Pat Mastelotto (acoustic and electronic drums, percussives, programming)
Fabio Trentini (electric guitars, guitar synth, fretless bass, voice)
Tim Motzer (electric and acoustic guitars, ukulele)
Mark Williams (mandocello, fretless bass, cello, voice)
Monica Champion (clarinet, saxophone, voice)
Annette Franzen (electric violin)
Adrian Benavides (electric guitar)
Luca Calabrese (flugelhorn)
Marcus Graf (trumpet)
Michael Mordecai (trombone)
Brad Houser (bass clarinet)
Steven Wilson (vocal chords)
Michael Bernier (bowed stick)
Chrysta Bell (voice)
Renée Stieger (voice)
Danny Wilde (voice)
Yoshi Hampl (voice)

Track Listing:
1. FACE (35:11)

Added: July 3rd 2017
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Artist's Official Site
Hits: 1232
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by