Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Google Ads

Various Artists: L.V. Beethoven-Ode To Perfection

Lion Music have released a new album featuring their own roster of incredible musicians paying homage to the great Classical composer, Ludwig Van Beethoven. Included are 9 of Beethoven's greatest pieces of music that have been transcribed to a Rock and Metal setting and shedding a new and different light on this incredible composer's works.

Ode To Perfection is the fourth release in a series of which some of Lion Music's best artists are given the task of covering some of their favorite Classical pieces and this release is all about Beethoven. Airless guitarist, Robert Rodrigo, puts forth an excellent guitar rendition of the internationally famous, Symphony No. 5 Movement 1. Charly Sahona's interpretation of the intricate "Piano Sonata No. 21 in C Major Op. 53 Movement 1", is especially masterfully executed. It is absolutely flawless.

The entire project was started in 2014 and was to only be a three album release that has now with this release, turned into a four record series. L.V. Beethoven-Ode To Perfection is an excellent and enlightening way to discover what Classical music is about and specifically what Beethoven's music is all about. Introducing someone not all that enthralled with traditional Classical music with this more Rock and Metal spin on Beethoven's awe-inspiring music, might be a much more rewarding and pleasurable endeavor. While Metal infused Classical music is not exactly a new thing (thanks Yngwie), this Lion Music tribute to Beethoven is quite an interesting listen, especially if you are a fan of Neo-Classical shredfest guitar.

Track Listing
1. Symphony No. 5 Movement 1 (Robert Rodrigo)
2. Turkish March, Op 113 (Pier Gonella)
3. Grande Sonata Pathetique No. 8 in Cm, Opus13, Movement 1 (Joe McGurk)
4. Piano Sonata No. 21 in C Major, Op. 53, Movement 1 (Charly Sahona)
5. Symphony No 3 "Eroica" Scherzo: Allegro vivace (Condition Red)
6. Thy Ship Must Sail, My Henry Dear (Woo 153 N. 20) (Mathias Holm Klarin)
7. Sonata "Pathetique" Op. 13 : III. Rondo. Allegro (Boguslaw Balcerak's Crylord)
8. Ode to Joy (Chris Steberl)
9. Piano Sonata 31, Movement Three, Adagio ma non troppo (Mistheria)

Added: June 27th 2017
Reviewer: Butch Jones
Related Link: Lion Music
Hits: 575
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by