Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Chicago: Live At The Greek 1978

1978 was an extremely tough year for the band Chicago as their heart and soul in the form guitarist Terry Kath sadly passed away. It really doesn't seem that long ago as I remember it quite clearly. I have been a big fan of the band since the early days and listening to their music always seems to put a smile on my face. This new live album titled Live At The Greek 1978, performed at the Greek Theater in Los Angeles, is like a trip down memory lane as the nostalgia is thick and the band was at the top of their game. The sad news of Kath's passing almost dealt the band a fatal blow but they decided to continue on with help from their new guitarist at the time Donnie Dacus.

The band was firing on all cylinders that night as the playing and vocals are outstanding. The set list contains a nice mixture of rockers and ballads so all fans of Chicago should find something to enjoy here. The overtly sentimental "If You Leave Me Now", a song that has always been panned by the critics, has always had a soft spot with me and the classic "Just You 'N' Me" is another wonderfully soft moment. Other great tracks include the concert opening "Feelin' Stronger Every Day", the timeless "Does Anybody Really Know What Time It Is" and a rousing version of the hard rock classic "25 Or 6 To 4".

As far as the sound quality is concerned it is really pretty good but far from perfect as you might expect. I actually think the instrumentation and vocals have decent clarity. You will need to judge that for yourself.

Live At The Greek 1978 displays a top notch band in all their glory. As noted earlier the sound quality isn't flawless but that's okay. Put it in, play it loud and enjoy these classic '70s tunes over and over again.

Track Listing:
1. Feelin' Stronger Every Day (5:52)
2. Dialogue Parts I & II (6:39)
3. Hot Streets (6:01)
4. Just You 'N' Me (5:50)
5. Ain't It Time (4:50)
6. Beginnings (6:09)
7. Inner Struggles Of A man (3:04)
8. Prelude (Little One) (7:05)
9. Happy Man (4:59)
10. If You Leave Me Now (4:39)
11. Alive Again (4:25)
12. Does Anybody Really Know What Time It Is? (3:32)
13. Saturday In The Park (3:57)
14. (I've Been) Searchin' So Long (4:48)
15. 25 Or 6 To 4 (5:20)
16. Free (5:36)

Added: June 24th 2017
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 1795
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by