Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Barrows: Obsidian

Barrows is Jim Leonard and Richy Epolito, an instrumental space rock duo whose new album Obsidian is out now on German-based Tonzonen Records. Comprised of six mostly lengthy tracks, Obsidian is an energetic and sprawling set of progressive, space, and kraut rock, a must hear for any fan of Goblin, Ozric Tentacles, Hawkwind, and Pink Floyd. From the driving rhythms and eerie 'Pompeii' era Floyd calmness of "Entrada" to the expansive sounds of the alluring title track, Obsidian utilizes all sorts of musical effects to convey its many moods and textures. The gargantuan "Cocoon" clocks in at just under 20-minutes, with menacing synths & guitars fluttering and flying about the mix, as much an homage to Tangerine Dream as vintage Hawkwind. By the time the listener makes it to the epic finale of "Zenith", the space rock journey of Obsidian culminates with brighter arrangements, giving a sense of arrival and hope for the future.

With this third release, Barrows have surely jettisoned themselves into the fray, making Obsidian an easy recommendation for lovers of instrumental progressive/psych music.

Track Listing
1. Telekin 01:43
2. Entrada 07:00
3. Obsidion 10:29
4. Cocoon 19:46
5. Manna 03:28
6. Zenith 12:39

Added: June 17th 2017
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 1952
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by