Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Semistereo: Trans Earth Injection

The Dutch quintet Semistereo is another new discovery for me. Their new album Trans Earth Injection, released in February, 2017 is their third overall following a 2012 self-titled release and one other I couldn't find information on. They have toured with the likes of Marillion, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Riverside, Living Colour and many others.

In the band are Paul Glandorf (lead vocals), Martijn Weyburg (guitars, keyboards, vocals), Frank Weijers (guitars), Mickeal Schuurman (bass) and Marcel van de Graaf (drums). Guest musician Thomas Cochrane provides horns. The album was mixed and mastered by Jochem Jacobs at Splitsecondsounds.

The band's music is billed as alternative rock with progressive and post rock influences. The first track "A New Tomorrow" is a great example of what this disc is all about. The vocals are relaxed and a little dream-like, kind of like a Steven Wilson delivery and the guitars and accented keys form walls of sound building ever so slowly. There are certainly post rock moments in the guitar sound and the music does have a proggy vibe although not overtly slow. The catchy build up at song's end is a highlight. Their music has been referenced to bands like Oceansize and that certainly came to mind. A barrage of crashing guitar riffs open the expansive "The Search" before developing mellow sonic textures of guitar and sublime lead vocals. An earworm of the highest order while still maintaining an imaginative arrangement and great guitar chords with impressive builds of intensity. Some of the parts get quite heavy and the backing vocals add another layer of sound. More delicious vocal harmonies can be found in the softer "Loneliness at the Door" where the guitars unveil their post rock hues. The album ending "Sin" is a ten plus minute track with moody guitar, voices, insect-like effects and a pulsating beat that might have been something Floyd would have done in the '70s. Probably the most exploratory part of the disc and a worthy closure to what is an excellent fifty minutes of music.

Semistereo has got my undivided attention with Trans Earth Injection in a major way. Fans of alternative, progressive and post rock should find much to like. Another excellent release courtesy of Freia Music.

Track Listing:
1. A New Tomorrow (5:35)
2. The Search (10:42)
3. Loneliness at the Door (5:14)
4. $35 Special (6:08)
5. The Storm Behind Your Eyes (4:59)
6. Your Drama (7:30)
7. Sin (10:29)

Added: June 11th 2017
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 1806
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by