Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Secret Sphere: The Nature of Time

Since bursting on the scene in 1997, the Italian symphonic power metal act Secret Sphere have now delivered nine studio albums, their latest one The Nature of Time out now on Frontiers Records, a perfect home for their brand of melodic metal. Since 2012 the band has been fronted by the mercurial vocal talents of Michele Luppi, formerly of Vision Divine and current keyboard player & backing vocalist for the legendary Whitesnake. It's no surprise that David Coverdale has chosen Luppi to complement his band, as he brings an amazing vocal approach perfectly capable of supporting the Whitesnake frontman and helping him tackle even the most demanding old material. This latest Secret Sphere release contains 11 memorable rockers that showcase all the bands strengths, including their great ability to craft catchy melodies and house them within muscular arrangements brimming with symphonic keyboards and virtuoso guitar work.

Soaring vocal harmonies permeate the complex "Courage" as dazzling guitar passages weave around stabbing keyboards, while "Honesty" chugs along with an almost doom laden Black Sabbath intensity, but mixed with moments of AOR and intricate progressive metal. Those who enjoy Secret Sphere's more progressive & symphonic leanings will love the vibrant "Faith" as well as the furious "Reliance", but there's also an incredible instrumental, titled "Commitment", which showcases the bands musical talents even further. Of course, there's the near 9-minute epic "The Awakening", where power & prog collide for a wild ride, and a few poignant ballads in the form of "Kindness" and "The New Beginning", all proving to be fantastic vehicles for Luppi and his incredible vocal range. And, let's not forget the instantly memorable anthem "The Calling", sure to be a favorite of many genre fans this year.

You can instantly tell that the band put a lot of love and effort into The Nature of Time, and ultimately it's one of their strongest efforts in a career already filled with excellent releases. If your interests sway towards classy, melodic power/progressive metal, this one will be a no brainer.

Michele Luppi Vocals
Aldo Lonobile Guitars
Andrea Buratto Bass
Gabriele Ciaccia Keyboards
Marco Lazzarini - Drums

Track Listing
01_ Intermission
02_ The Calling
03_ Love
04_ Courage
05_ Kindness
06_ Honesty
07_ Faith
08_ Reliance
09_ Commitment
10_ The Awakening
11_ The New Beginning

Added: June 3rd 2017
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 2224
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by