Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Purpendicular: Venus to Volcanus

Just a few short weeks after the excellent new Deep Purple album Infinite arrived, this kick ass release follows hot on its heels. Purpendicular are a European Deep Purple tribute band who have been around since 2007 playing the music of that legendary but also recording their own original music in the same style as the mighty Purple. Venus to Volcanus is their new album on Fastball Music, and it contains 11 original songs squarely in the vein of everything from In Rock to Infinite.

Purpendicular are comprised of vocalist Robby Thomas Walsh, guitarist Herbert Bucher, Oliver Klammt on Hammond organ & keyboards, bassist Winnie Bucher, and drummer Jurgen Zink. Walsh for his part is a dead ringer for Ian Gillan circa 1971, so he's got that bluesy hard rock swagger as well as perfectly capable of screaming up a storm. Just check him out doing his thing on the rocking "Bullet" or the dramatic "I Can't Win Them All", each one combining the best of old and new Purple. Klammt's keyboard work is integral to the bands sound, from those lush Hammond tones to blazing synth, he's the perfect foil for guitarist Bucher, who tends to lean more towards the Steve Morse or Joe Satriani side of things rather than mimicking Ritchie Blackmore. "Absence" and "Moving" are textured, atmospheric numbers that wouldn't have sounded out of place on Perfect Strangers or Rapture of the Deep, and the heavy "Wonderful" even features an appearance from Ian Paice himself on drums (Paice has been associated with the band on and off over the years) and ex-Rainbow keyboard player Tony Carey. "End of Pain" digs deep with great grooves, lots of riffs, and majestic atmosphere, while the smashing "Evil Tongue" is a snarling number with venomous Walsh vocals and plenty of guitar & Hammond fury. In fact, Venus to Volcanus gets heavier as the album progresses, with "Trouble Man" and "Earth Sand" containing some of the heaviest riffs on the album and "No Rest" just a great, kick ass hard rock & prog flavored number.

If you love Deep Purple old and new, Purpendicular do their best to combine both worlds here with their own original material. Venus to Volcanus is not only a fantastic tribute to a legendary band, but also a testament to just how good Purpendicular are at doing their own thing. Recommended.

See more about this release on our recent YouTube show!

Track Listing
1. Bullet
2. Moving
3. I can't win them all
4. Absence
5. Wonderful
6. End of pain
7. We both go down
8. Evil Tongue
9. Troubleman
10.Earth Sand
11.No rest

Added: May 21st 2017
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 2993
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by