Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Harem Scarem: United

United is an appropriate title for this latest Frontiers Records release from Canadian melodic hard rockers Harem Scarem. Their last album Thirteen was a strong showing for a band that had been away from the recording studio for a while, but here with this latest collection of new songs, the band truly are 'united' and rocking harder than ever. Comprised of Harry Hess (lead vocals, guitar), Pete Lesperance (lead guitar), Stan Miczek (bass guitar), Darren Smith (background vocals), and Creighton Doane (drums), Harem Scarem seem to have their most potent line-up yet, and they've crafted an album brimming with soaring hooks and ultra-crunchy guitar work.

At its core, United is pure AOR & melodic rock, but man, Hess & Lesperance deliver some stunning metal guitar riffs & solos throughout this album that tip the heavy barometer into the red on occasion. The opening title track is an instantly memorable arena rock anthem, while the addicting "Here Today Gone Tomorrow" throws heart tugging vocals and gymnastic, metallic guitar work at the listener that instantly sink their talons into you. The layers of vocals and piledriver riffing of "Gravity" bring to mind Queen, Van Halen, and Eclipse, while "Sinking Ship" again reminds of VH with its spectacular guitar acrobatics and catchy hooks. Other highlights on an album full of them include the bluesy hard rocker "No Regrets", the irresistible "Bite the Bullet", the heavy ballad "Things I Know", the soaring, Beatles influenced "The Sky is Falling", and the slow building, moody closer "Indestructible".

Classy all the way, United is a powerful statement from the veteran Harem Scarem, an album packed to the gills with enough addicting hooks and guitar thunder to please any rock fan, and showing the world that the band still have plenty of tricks up their sleeve. Recommended!

Track Listing
01 United
02 Here Today Gone Tomorrow
03 Gravity
04 Sinking Ship
05 One Of Life's Mysteries
06 No Regrets
07 Bite The Bullet
08 Things I Know
09 The Sky Is Falling
10 Heaven And Earth
11 Indestructible

Added: May 14th 2017
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 2131
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by