Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Google Ads

Inglorious: II

Powerhouse vocalist Nathan James (Trans-Siberian Orchestra/Uli Jon Roth) and the rest of the band known as Inglorious, guitarists Andreas Eriksson & Wil Taylor, bassist Colin Parkinson, and drummer Phil Beaver, released their sensational debut for Frontiers Records a little over a year ago, and they are already back with the sizzling follow-up, titled very simply II. Mixed by Kevin Shirley at his Caveman Studios, II once again features a wealth of '70s & '80s hard rock influences, which range from Deep Purple, Whitesnake, Led Zeppelin, Free, Bad Company, and Aerosmith, James' voice a potent focal point and allowing for the rest of the band to form a great classic sounding foundation around him.

One of the things I stressed in my review of their debut album was the bands ability to write instantly memorable hard rock songs that grabbed you from the very first listen, and that characteristic is here yet again on the sophomore release. "Read All About It", "I Don't Need Your Loving", "Taking the Blame", and "Tell Me Why" all contain addicting choruses and ultra tasty guitar riffs & solos, with Parkinson's thick bass lines also nice and high in the mix. James is one of the most impressive vocalists on the heavy rock scene today, and he's in spectacular form throughout II, showing off his bluesy side on the gut wrenching "Change is Coming" and spewing plenty of venom on the raging Whitesnake styled rocker "No Good for You". Erikkson's superb lead playing and Tayor's raunchy riffing work wonders on the tumultuous "I Got a Feeling", and the crushing anthem "Black Magic" clocks in as perhaps the heaviest song on the album, sort of like Deep Purple on steroids. In fact, there is a cool keyboard presence on the entire album, the subtle use of Hammond organ, piano, and synth always there in the background supporting the arrangements and adding a wealth of texture.

Inglorious have hit another home run here on their second album, one that is sure to get you unleashing your air guitar, banging your head, tapping your toes, singing along and thrusting your fist to the heavens. Basically, II is an essential listen for bluesy heavy rock lovers of all ages.

See more about this release on our recent YouTube show!

Track Listing
01 - I Don't Need Your Loving
02 - Taking The Blame
03 - Tell Me Why
04 - Read All About It
05 - Change Is Coming
06 - Making Me Pay
07 - Hell Or High Water
08 - No Good For You
09 - I Got A Feeling
10 - Black Magic
11 - Faraway
12 - High Class Woman

Added: May 14th 2017
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 801
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by