Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Joachim Kühn New Trio: Beauty & Truth

Sometimes siblings have a profound influence on us. That is the case with German pianist Joachim Kühn who became interested in jazz due to his older brother's love of the genre. Kühn became a professional musician in 1961 and has recorded and played with many great musicians including Ornette Coleman from 1996 to 2000. On his latest album Beauty & Truth Kühn performs with his new trio consisting of himself, Chris Jennings (bass) and Eric Schaefer (drums).

The album is a mixture of originals and covers all done with great care and thoughtfulness. Kühn is an excellent player with a clear vibrant tone and superb melodic sensibility. The trio format gives all three musicians the space and room they need to fully explore the mastery of their chosen instrument. The bass and drums are performed with great gusto and aplomb often giving these tracks more intensity and zest incorporating big warm tones into the mix. Songs like "Sleep On It", originally a dub reggae number, and "Intim" have huge bass sound along with excellent piano work. A little slower is the album opening title track setting the stage with a lovely piano melody. The music gets busier with the classic Doors tune "The End", an innovative cover that is as adventurous as it is faithful to the original. This is really outstanding stuff from all involved.

Beauty & Truth is a high water mark for Kühn which is really saying something given that he is in his early '70s. To be still making music this good is a testament to the skill and craftsmanship this band possesses.

Track Listing:
1. Beauty & Truth (Ornette Coleman) (1:22)
2. The End (The Doors) (4:02)
3. Because Of Mouloud (3:48)
4. Sleep On It (Stand High Patrol) (4:15)
5. Intim (2:47)
6. Transmitting (6:09)
7. Summertime (George Gershwin) (3:23)
8. Riders On The Storm (The Doors) (3:35)
9. Machineria (3:19)
10. Sleep Safe And Warm (Krzysztof Komeda) (2:58)
11. Kattorna (Krzysztof Komeda) (3:53)
12. Blues For Pablo (Gil Evans) (8:31)

Added: May 1st 2017
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Label's Official Site
Hits: 1005
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by