Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Sinner: Tequila Suicide

Tequila Suicide is the 18th studio album from German heavy metal legends Sinner, a band whose career dates all the way back to 1982 and is still led to this day by bassist/vocalist Mat Sinner. In between his other acts Primal Fear and Voodoo Circle, Mat always seems to find time to crank out a new Sinner album, and on this latest AFM release he's joined by fellow Primal Fear mate Tom Naumann (guitar), Alexander Scholpp (guitar), Francesco Jovino (drums), plus guests stars that include Gus G (Firewind, Ozzy), Ricky Warwick (Black Star Riders), Sascha Krebs, Kolinda Brozovic, Pete Lincoln, and Magnus Karlsson (Primal Fear).

No real surprises here on Tequila Suicide, just good old fashioned hard rock & heavy metal like we've come to expect from this band for over 30 years. Sinner's gruff yet melodic vocals square up against a non stop assault of super crunchy metal riffs on fun tunes like "Road to Hell", "Dragons", "Why", and "Go Down Fighting", the band opting for more of a classic rock/metal vibe here than power metal, and it's even safe to say that there are more than a few Thin Lizzy references to be heard throughout the album. Tasty twin guitar harmonies are just around every corner, like on the hard rocking "Gypsy Rebels" and the bluesy title track, both Naumann and Scholpp putting in fine performances with their blend of riffs, solos, and screaming pinch harmonics. "Loud and Clear" is another head banging workout for the guitar duo, easily one of the heaviest tunes on the album and also featuring a potent vocal from Sinner.

One can safely say that Sinner have been quite a consistent band all these years, and while some albums might be more successful than others, Tequila Suicide is another in a fine line of quality releases from this hard hitting outfit.

See more about this release on our recent YouTube show!

Track Listing
1. Go Down Fighting
2. Tequila Suicide
3. Road To Hell
4. Dragons
5. Battle Hill
6. Sinner Blues
7. Why
8. Gypsy Rebels
9. Loud & Clear
10. Dying On A Broken Heart

Added: April 15th 2017
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 1434
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by