Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Google Ads

Young, Neil: Cow Palace 1986

Here is another FM radio broadcast, this time taken from the Cow Palace in Brisbane, California in 1986. The artist is Neil Young and much like my review of The Eagles live performance in Houston circa 1976, this is another live release that has the artist and his band performing on all cylinders.

The 'Live in a Rusted Out Garage' tour, as it was billed, showcased no less than seven tunes from his then upcoming album titled Life and although none I would consider classics there are some good tunes here. You have to appreciate the fact that Young always moved to the beat of his own drum and wasn't/isn't afraid to play new material.

The last time his backing band Crazy Horse had appeared on an album was 1981's Re-ac-tor and here they are absolutely cooking and in great from. After a somewhat humorous introduction the proper concert begins with a steady beat heard through the deafening crowd noise before the familiar riff of "Mr Soul" enters to the delight of the audience. This concert is studded with other highlights like the superb vocal harmonies and psychedelic bliss of "Down By The River", the lovely acoustic guitar and harmonica driven "Heart Of Gold", the equally gorgeous "After The Goldrush" where Neil offers a beautiful piano melody and the hazy psychedelic mood in "Cortez The Killer".

And of course what Neil Young concert would be deprived of "Like A Hurricane"? Eleven minutes of twisted guitar lines and raw Crazy Horse power. Cool renditions of the vocoder filled "Sample And Hold" and "Computer Age", taken from the Trans album are more highlights.

Man the band sounds great here. This brings back memories of the first time I saw Young in concert. Memories I will never forget.

Track Listing:
Disc 1
1. Introduction (1:21)
2. Mr Soul (4:37)
3. When You Dance, I Can Really Love (4:24)
4. Down By The River (7:19)
5. Too Lonely (2:36)
6. Neil's Mom Calls (2:42)
7. Heart Of Gold (3:50)
8. After The Goldrush (4:52)
9. Inca Queen (7:50)
10. Drive Back (6:44)
11. Opera Star (4:27)
12. Sam Kinison Calls (1:39)
13. Cortez The Killer (9:20)
Disc 2
1. Sample And Hold (5:59)
2. Computer Age (5:37)
3. Violent Side (5:08)
4. Mideast vacation (5:57)
5. Long Walk Home (6:34)
6. The Needle And The Damage Done (3:38)
7. When Your Lonely Heart Breaks (5:26)
8. Around The World (5:58)
9. Powderfinger (5:58)
10. Like A Hurricane (11:28)
11. Hey Hey, My My (6:33)
12. Prisoners Of Rock 'n' Roll (5:16)

Added: April 14th 2017
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Artist's Official Site
Hits: 747
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by