Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Hidden Hand, The : Mother * Teacher * Destroyer

" ...aggressive, fast, melodic, and a bit progressive, with an emphasis on tone and strong dual-lead vocals..."

If you're a fan of solid stoner/doom metal which stretches the genre beyond it's usual paradigm then this is the ticket for you. If the anthemic opener "The Crossing" doesn't leave you absolutely spellbound then check your pulse; you might be dead. 11 superb tracks which redefine the doom genre. Whether borrowing a page from Wyndorf and Co. with the very Monster Magnet sounding "Half Mast" or charging at you like a rhino on downers on the extremely weighty "Desensitized", The Hidden Hand has arrived on the scene to mother you, teach you, and ultimately destroy you. The band balances well various genres to create a fresh hybrid. The heaviness and deliberateness of doom is mixed in with some more psychedelic-laden sounds, such as on "Draco Vibration", and " The Deprogramming Of Tom Delay", which gives the band a slight mystical feel. The band also concentrated on writing lyrics which deal not only with political, social, and environmental issues, but also spirituality. The band name derives from "the hidden hand" which shapes the history of mankind.Slower numbers such as "Black Ribbon" demonstrate the band's ability to begin softly and build in intensity, and may be as close to a ballad this disc offers. "Magdalene" shows the band's ability to write melodic, straight up rockers, filled with catchy riffs and ear-worm like choruses which dig their way into your brain to remain inbedded long after the number is over."Sons Of Kings" reveals the band's penchant for slightly more epic numbers, filled with mythological lyrics, bombastic power chords , and flirtations with varied time signatures. It may be the best song on what already is a very impressive record.Comfortably positioned in my top 10 of 2004, Mother* Teacher* Destroyer is one impressive disc and a no-brainer for fans of any of the genres described above. Highly recommended.

Track Listing

  1. The Crossing
  2. Half Mast
  3. Desensitized
  4. Draco Vibration
  5. Black Ribbon
  6. Magdalene
  7. Currents
  8. Travesty As Usual
  9. Coffin Lily
  10. Sons Of Kings
  11. The Deprogramming Of Tom Delay

Added: December 30th 2004
Reviewer: Yves Dubé
Related Link:
Hits: 3248
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by