Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Occhipinti, Roberto: Stabilimento

If you like your jazz varied and with a sublime production then Stabilimento from bassist Roberto Occhipinti will be something you'll need to clap your ears round. The main man himself utilises his own renowned skills behind the desk to give his latest album a sublime sound that allows it to shine in so many different ways. Although credit to Jeremy Darby, Crispin Day and Jeff Wolpert who all also contributed on the technical side. Now it may seem a little odd to start by highlighting the sound team on an album brimming with superb performances and expert arrangements and yet with so many recordings boasting those two elements, there's no denying that the style in which they've been laid out for all to hear on Stabilimento is what makes it glisten just that little bit brighter.

What that expert work does, is to allow a genuinely eclectic selection to shimmer with real potency as precise yet flowing performances wend their way across nine excellently crafted pieces. The full band, thirteen in all across the first six cuts, is too numerous to namecheck in full, but with saxophonists Tim Ries (Rolling Stones) and Luis Deniz (Rich Brown) and McArthur award genius grant winner Dafnis Prieto on drums, you know you're in for something special. "Tuareg" begins the journey with piano darting and piercing, horns calling and swooning, the percussion driving and dextrous.

With selections as diverse as "Opus 132 - Theme By Beethoven" expertly arranged by Occhipinti himself, and the Stevie Wonder number "Another Star" keenly rubbing shoulders, that they sound so comfortable together highlights the care and detail that's been put in. The former subtle as it rolls through themes and atmospheres, the latter a surprisingly restrained kiss of sax and percussion that allows the bass to come through and gently lead the way.

The final three cuts on the album are from a different session altogether, Occhipinti teaming up some four years ago with the Hilario Duran Trio of Duran on piano, Mark Kelso on drums and Alistair Kay on trombone. With violin, viola and cello also heavily involved, the results are dramatic, pensive and captivating, "Penelope" stirring the emotions before "Trinachria" quickens the pulse. Whereas the bold and brash "Markato" not only closes the album in rumbustious style, it also allows Kelso to really step forward and provide a percussive masterclass.

With virtuosic performances, sensitive and stylish arrangements and a sound to die for, Stabilimento really is an eye catching collection that engages from the off and never lets go as it whisks, twirls and seduces at every turn.

Track Listing
1. Tuareg
2. Dom De Illudir
3. Opus 132-Theme by Beethoven
4. Que Bolla
5. Another Star
6. Stabilimento
7. Penelope
8. Trinacria
9. Markato

Added: March 31st 2017
Reviewer: Steven Reid
Related Link: Stabilimento at CD Baby
Hits: 1091
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by