Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Four Trips Ahead: ...And The Fire Within

Big swooping choruses, hard hitting rhythms and a modern Alt-Rock spin on Hard Rock/Metal is what you will find inside this 2nd full length album, ...And The Fire Within, from NYC hard hitters, Four Trips Ahead. Already with one full length record and four EP's to their credit, Four Trips Ahead have stepped up to the plate and delivered the goods with this great sounding, 10 song release.

Four Trips Ahead slickly combines the sounds of 70's Hard Rock, a smidgen of Prog Rock sensibilities and the outside the box-ness of Alt-Rock to create a sound that is both familiar and uniquely their own. Music is very guitar driven, with a nastiness in songs like album opener, "Step Into My World" and its 90's Modern Rock vibe and its get stuck in your head chorus or the down and dirty groove of the single, "Bring Me Down". Peter Wilson delivers his passionate and unique vocals all throughout this sophomore album (and reminds me slightly of Swedish Metal vocalist Messiah Marcolin of Candlemass and Memento Mori fame, but without the operatic delivery) with a stern intensity that is unflappable. "December" opens with a breakneck speed flurry that turns on a dime into a soaringly beautiful song that is tender and elegant. While "The Decent" has a Billy Talent type of power pop type of vibe to it that finds Wilson's vocals taunting out "What's become of me?!"

On ...And The Fire Within, Four Trips Ahead have meld together a groove-heavy, catchy and melodic record with guitars colliding with raucously forceful rhythms and vocals with a personality not often found in today's Hard Rock/Metal realms. NYC's own Four Trips Ahead are poised to break out into the next phase of their career and with these 2nd full length album, their future could be quite bright.

Four Trips Ahead are:
Peter Wilson - Vocals
Brian Eisenpresser - Guitar
Dan Cassidy - Bass
Ken Candelas - Drums

Track Listing
  1. Step Into My World
  2. December
  3. Sea Song
  4. Good Times Goodbye
  5. Theres A Time
  6. The Escape
  7. Inside Out
  8. Run To You
  9. The Decent
  10. Bring Me Down

Added: March 31st 2017
Reviewer: Butch Jones
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 1925
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by