Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Pymlico: Meeting Point

Pymlico is a progressive fusion band hailing from Norway. They released their first album Inspirations in 2011 and have been steadily releasing albums since culminating with their fourth release Meeting Point in 2016.

Pymlico was another one of those new discoveries for me and is the main reason why I continue to review music. In a word they are excellent.

In the band are Stephan Hvinden (electric guitars), ōyvind BrÝter (analog and digital keyboards, acoustic and electric pianos), Axel Toreg Reite (bass guitar, synth bass), Arild BrÝter (drums, percussion, keyboards, additional electric guitars) and Marie Faerevaag (saxophone, piano, voice, percussion).

The first thing that struck me right away was the band's innate sense of melody. These are damn catchy songs and even when they up the complexity the melodies can be quite accessible. They have a fluid and smooth sound and I don't mean that in a bad way. Imagine if Steely Dan was a progressive rock band. Sometimes instrumental music can be a chore to listen to but have no fear with Meeting Point. If you dig melodic and/or instrumental prog you should find much to like. The rhythm section is crisp and clean propelling these eight tracks with just the right amount of gusto. The guitar is also excellent and is a key component of the band's melodicism. Great chord choices and soaring solos, sometimes subtle while other times with more bite and offers some good hooks throughout. The keys are also ever present and the sound takes on a jazzy flavour at times mainly due to the use of sax, trumpet and trombone.

"Crab Key" is an excellent beginning rocker with impressive fretwork and solid riffs. The sound is smooth yet not overly so. "Second Rate Punk" has a cool boogie style guitar riff etched into the tunes solid prog rock foundation. I hear Toto in parts and the band displays some excellent chops in its brand of fusion infused melodic prog. "Broken Glass" features a scrumptiously smooth, spine tingling guitar melody while "Iris" is another melodic gem with lovely background voicings and fusionesque guitar soloing.

There is not one bad song in the bunch as Meeting Point is an excellent instrumental progressive rock album. Had I reviewed this in 2016 it would have easily made my best of list.

Released on Apollo Records.

Track Listing:
1. Crab Key
2. Second Rate Punk
3. Broken Glass
4. Iris
5. First Light
6. NoL861613060
7. Lucy Does Not Approve
8. Erised

Added: March 30th 2017
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 2107
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by