Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Code: Lost Signal

With this EP, Code revisits songs from prior releases and explores what else they can do. I'm not talking about simple re-recordings; these are experiments in tinkering, refining, and changing. The first three tracks all come from the band's most recent release, Mut. The other three tracks come from Resplendent Grotesque, Augur Nox, and Nouveau Gloaming, respectively. Even though I like the idea behind this release, I wasn't quite as taken with it as I hoped to be. The heavy moments are strong, if occasionally a little too weighty. The subtler moments occasionally seemed drowned out by the backing materials even though the vocals were always clear enough. I liked the occasional forays into harsh vocals, especially on "Affliction." I liked "Cocoon" the best, but "Affliction" was cool, too.

Track Listing:
1. On Blinding Larks
2. Cocoon
3. Affliction
4. The Rattle of Black Teeth
5. The Lazarus Cord
6. Brass Dogs

Added: March 30th 2017
Reviewer: Carl Sederholm
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 1396
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by