Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Sons Of Sounds: In The Circle Of The Universe

In The Circle Of The Universe is the third album from the trio of brothers Roman, Wayne and H Beselt, who handle vocals/bass, guitars and drums respectively and are otherwise known as Sons Of Sounds. The album was produced by Martin Buchwalter, drummer in Perzonal War, Fall Of Carthage and Balls Gone Wild and released through Fastball Music. So while this is a family affair, it isn't a closed shop.

Yet even with that outside help, what Sons Of Sounds cook up is more of a fast-food, nice while it lasts experience, than a banquet to savour. That doesn't mean that there isn't anything to sink your teeth into, Wayne's guitar work classy in a traditional Maiden and Dio meets a US metal style, while the songs themselves are reasonably tight affairs. However, the modern Maiden disease also infects this album, only two of thirteen selections coming in below the five minute mark, while five tracks needlessly push over six. In all it makes for a 74 minute long album a length where you really have to have something pretty special on offer to keep the attention snapped in place. Unfortunately a predilection with mid-paced stompers that repeat their message over and over ensures that's never really the case. With messy background vocals and the lead vocals from Roman pretty unexciting, neither is there really a hook to draw you back for more. Add in that Roman's delivery has an accented flavour that some may struggle to get past and that when he tries to elongate some of the notes, he fails to maintain any impact, and while never terrible, what he provides does prove to be a consistent weakness.

All of which is a bit of a shame, because whether through the gallop and retreat of "Movie Of My Life", the upbeat sections of "Thirteen Crystal Skulls", or pounding "My Star", there are plenty of hints that this band aren't all that far away. While the Dio like "Rock 'n' Roll Monster" finally finds everything clicking perfectly into place to provide a genuine album highlight. However it isn't enough to stop In The Circle Of The Universe being a prime example of nearly but not quite. Something clearly accentuated by including too many songs and way too many of them over staying their welcome. If this had been a tight, 40 minute offering, what Sons Of Sounds have put together here could be a decent, straight up metal effort. Quality over quantity? Unfortunately not on this occasion.

Track Listing
1. Magic
2. The Machinery
3. The Change
4. Exousia
5. Movie of My Life
6. Rock'n'Roll Monster
7. Ikana (New Awareness)
8. Destiny
9. From Stone to Dime
10. Children of the Light
11. Thirteen Crystal Skulls
12. My Star
13. Sirius & Mars

Added: March 5th 2017
Reviewer: Steven Reid
Related Link: Sons Of Sounds online
Hits: 1502
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by