Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Chickenfoot: Best + Live

With only two studio albums to their credit, it seems awfully early for Chickenfoot to release a 'Best Of' compilation, but the band have actually killed two birds with one stone here, adding a second disc of live recordings resulting in this new Best +Live set that also features a brand new track, "Divine Termination". Though the band has been quite inactive these last few years, the fact that they've added a new song here hopefully gives their fans a light at the end of what has been a fairly dim tunnel since the release of their sophomore album in 2011.

As for the new song "Divine Termination", it's a good one, complete with heavy grooves, some tasty picking from Joe Satriani, and Sammy Hagar's still strong pipes. If it's a sign of more new music to come, I say bring it on. The rest of the Best portion of this set is comprised of popular tracks from their two studio albums, highlights being "Soap on a Rope", "Sexy Little Thing", "Get It Up", "Big Foot", and "Lighten Up", all catchy hard rockers that proved that this super-group was more than legit. Some fun live covers of Deep Purple's "Highway Star", The Who's "My Generation", and of course the Montrose classic "Bad Motor Scooter" are also here, giving this whole set a wealth of live material to dig into. If you missed any of the other strong album cuts, fear not, as chances are some of your favorites are included in the live portion of this 2CD set, such as "Avenida Revolution", "My Kinda Girl", and "Down the Drain". For those who never picked up the Get Your Buzz On DVD set, these live tracks are actually from that video, so here what you basically have is the CD version of that DVD concert.

For some, one new track won't be reason enough to purchase Best + Live if you already have all the other material in some form or another, but for those whose Chickfoot collection is incomplete, this is a worthwhile set to seek out. Now, hopefully there is more new music to come in the not too distant future.

Track Listing
01. Divine Termination (BRAND NEW SONG)
02. Soap On A Rope
03. Sexy Little Thing
04. Oh Yeah
05. Get It Up
06. Future In The Past
07. Big Foot
08. Different Devil
09. Lighten Up
10. Dubai Blues
11. Something Going Wrong
12. Highway Star
13. Bad Motor Scooter
14. My Generation

01. Avenida Revolution
02. Sexy Little Thing
03. Soap On A Rope
04. My Kinda Girl
05. Down The Drain
06. Bitten By The Wolf
07. Oh Yeah
08. Learning To Fall
09. Get It Up
10. Turnin' Left
11. Future In The Past

Added: March 5th 2017
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 1343
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by