Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

The Neal Morse Band: Morsefest 2015

I get very apprehensive when I see the words "super group" and speaking of which drummer Mike Portnoy apparently has another in the works, this time of the progressive metal kind. I have my fingers crossed for something special, especially as someone who isn't finding the same appeal in progressive metal that it once had with the memorable new releases now few and far apart. No doubt time will tell how "super" that future release is although given his past collaborations the potential for something very special is sure there. And speaking of Portnoy one band that sure does fit the "super" description is The Neal Morse Band.

The Neal Morse Band caused quite a stir last year when they released the progressive rock epic The Similtude Of A Dream, but this releases takes us back to 2015 and over two nights when the multi talented vocalist/guitarist/keyboardist Neal Morse along with drummer Mike Portnoy, bass player Randy George, keyboardist Bill Hubauer and guitarist Eric Gillette appeared at Morsefest 2015. With multiple format options on offer, that is Blu-ray discs, 2 x DVDs with 4 CD's, or if you don't need the visuals then there is a digital download option of the music. The Neal Morse Band features such experienced and talented musicians that you just know their performances aren't going to disappoint and they sure don't. With plenty of interaction with those lucky enough to be in attendance, the band play with so much enthusiasm and passion and I was also impressed with the sound quality of the version I received so I can only assume that Blu-ray will be very impressive. There is no doubt that Morsefest 2015 is sure to be a priority purchase for the many fans, and as you would expect there is a great deal of content right here with no shortage of extended tracks.

The Neal Morse albums Sola Scriptura and ? make up a lot of the content, and other tracks include those taken from The Grand Experiment, songs by Spock's Beard, and it's all hands on board for the excellent Transatlantic medley which wraps up the musical proceedings on disc two. Morsefest 2015 also featured many extra performers on stage including guests such as renowned guitarist Phil Keaggy, a choir, orchestral musicians and more. It is also a most welcome bonus to see Neal's former Spock's band mate Nick D'Virgilio whom gets his turn on the drums, and he shares the lead vocals on the moving version of "Wind at My Back".

With nothing but outstanding material Morsefest 2015 is one live recording that you will want to revisit again and again.

Track Listing
Disc One:
1 - Intro
2 - The Call
3 - The Grand Experiment
4 - Go the Way You Go
5 - MacArthur Park
6 - A Whole 'Nother Trip
7 - New Jerusalem
8 - Question Mark Intro
9 - Temple of The Living God
10 - Another World
11- The Outsider
12 - Sweet Elation
13 In the Fire
14 - Solid As the Sun
15 - The Glory of The Lord
16 - Outside Looking In
17 - 12
18 - Entrance
19 - Inside His Presence
20 - The Temple Of the Living God Reprise
Disc Two:
1 - Intro
2 - The Door
3 - The Conflict My Heart
5 - The Conclusion
6 - Waterfall
7 - At the End of the Day
8 - Wind at My Back
9 - Whirlwind Medley
10 - Thank You's

Added: March 4th 2017
Reviewer: Scott Jessup
Related Link: Artsist Website
Hits: 1835
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by