Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Millenium: The Best Of And More

Although its members have been involved in higher-profile projects guitarists Ralph Santolla played in Iced Earth and Shane French has gigged with Circle II Circle, while singers Todd Plant fronts prog-rock upstarts Cryptic Vision and Jorn Lande is well, Jorn Lande Florida's Millenium has quietly released four solid melodic hard-rock/heavy-metal albums with out of the ordinary songs and hooks that deserve to be heard by a wider audience. That must have been the intention of the honchos at Frontiers Records, which released this two-disc, 28-track compilation. The Best Of And More provides listeners with substantial offerings from each of Millenium's first three albums 1998's self-titled debut, 1999's Angelfire and 2000's Hourglass as well as a slew of previously unreleased recordings.

Disc one opens with six cuts from Hourglass, featuring Lande on vocals, and closes with eight songs from Angelfire with Plant at the mic -- making for a solid, no-filler-all-killer listening experience that's part classic rock, part heavy metal, part AOR and all quite snazzy and catchy. This band would have been unbeatable 15 years ago.

While not quite as strong as the first disc, CD two kicks off with the four best tracks from the debut, followed by four songs from an aborted covers project featuring Lande and journeyman keyboard player Don Airey that would have included songs by The Sweet and Jefferson Airplane, a pair of unreleased song from the Hourglass sessions and four demos from Millenium's latest album, the heavier and less mainstream Jericho (released on another label, incidentally, with Plant back at the vocal helm).

Unfortunately, the same production problems that plagued Millenium's first three albums have not been rectified here during the remastering process. The drums on songs from Hourglass and Angelfire, especially, still sound as if Oliver Hansen is hitting pieces of two-by-four. Other than that, though, it's tough to complain about this collection. Even the demos kick ass.

By the way, the band spells its name incorrectly intentionally to set itself apart from the many uses of the word "millennium" at the time of its formation. That's just the way these guys are they do things a little differently. You can hear it all over these discs.

Track Listing
Disc One:
1) Power to Love
2) Hourglass
3) Superstar
4) I Still Believe
5) Masquerade
6) Chasing Time
7) Shaman
8) Beyond the Pain
9) End of Time
10) Angelfire
11) Heaven Sent
12) Run
13) Saving Grace
14) The Color of the Night
Total Time: 69:31

Disc Two:
1) Together As One
2) Believe in Love
3) Almost Made It To Heaven
4) Invincible
5) On and On (The Michael Schenker Group)
6) I Surrender (Rainbow)
7) Jane (Jefferson Starship cover)
8) Love Is Like Oxygen (The Sweet cover)
9) Rain (Unreleased)
10) Anybody (Unreleased)
11) Gone Are the Chances (Demo)
12) I Lost It (Demo)
13) Heresy (Demo)
14) Sea of Madness (Demo)
Total Time: 64:58
Combined Total Time: 134:29

Added: December 23rd 2004
Reviewer: Michael Popke
Related Link: Frontiers Records
Hits: 5210
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by