Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Hughes, Glenn: Soulfully Live in the City of Angels

Soulfully Live in the City of Angels is the latest live CD/DVD set from famed hard rock singer/bassist Glenn Hughes. This 2CD live platter and accompanying DVD shows an energetic and seemingly refueled Hughes and his hot band motoring through many of his staple cuts from his career, including songs from his time spent in Trapeze, Deep Purple, Hughes/Thrall, as well as his solo period that started in the early 1990's.

The two CD's are chock full of many favorite and timeless Glenn Hughes songs, such as the beautiful "Coast to Coast", the heavy & doomy "Meduda", and the soaring "Seafull", all three from his days spent in Trapeze. Deep Purple fans will love the energetic and epic treatment given to "Mistreated", "Gettin' Tighter", and "You Keep on Moving", with lead guitarist JJ Marsh doing his best Ritchie Blackmore and Tommy Bolin impersonations perfectly. Red Hot Chili Peppers drummer Chad Smith adds powerful drumwork to the entire set, as he and Hughes have become good friends over the last few years, and one can only hope that the two get to record some more together in the future.

Hughes really shows to be in fine form vocally throughout the set, especially on the rockin' solo tunes like "Can't Stop the Flood" and "Higher Places", as well as the heavy Hughes/Thrall classic "The First Step of Love." It's fun to see former Santana singer Alex Ligertwood as well as Quiet Riot crooner Kevin Dubrow on the side of the stage adding backing vocals, both of whom apparently are close friends of the legendary singer. They help to add a nice depth vocally to the sets 13 cuts. There's plenty of fiery improvisation, especially from guitarist Marsh, who is a fine player that lets loose on solos that are as technical as they are tasty & melodic.

The DVD is enjoyable as well, as it covers 11 of the 13 tracks on the double CD set, however it was recorded with an odd filter effect that darkens the picture quality a bit as well as slows up the picture speed a hair. I think the intention was to give the footage a 70's vibe, which it does, but depending on your views on that filmaking style will vary your enjoyment of the show. The set was performed in front of a small seated audience, so there is a nice warm feeling that you get from watching the performance. Included are some interviews clips with members of the band, as well as a nice long interview with Glenn himself.

For a good sampling of the career of Glenn Hughes, this is a good place to start as any. The man still has pipes of gold, his band is red hot, and the songs are classic.

Track Listing
Disc One
1) Can't Stop the Flood (4:12)
2) Higher Places (5:28)
3) Written All Over Your Face (9:53)
4) Medusa (7:52)
5) Wherever You Go (6:11)
6) Seafull (8:29)
Disc Two
1) Coast to Coast (8:23)
2) First Step of Love (5:53)
3) Mistreated (11:22)
4) Gettin' Tighter (10:02)
5) You Keep on Moving (8:26)
6) The Healer (bonus studio track) (3:41)
1) Can't Stop the Flood
2) Higher Places
3) Written All Over Your Face
4) First Step of Love
5) Seafull
6) Wherever You Go
7) Coast to Coast
8) Medusa
9) Mistreated
10) Gettin' Tighter
11) You Keep on Moving

Added: December 22nd 2004
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Official Glenn Hughes Website
Hits: 3457
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by