Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Ghost Avenue: Impact

Pitch Black Records have themselves quite a find here with Norwegian hard rock/metal act Ghost Avenue and their brand new release Impact. Originally calling themselves just 'Ghost', the band obviously had to change their name due to the success of the popular Swedish act, and Impact is their second release under their new moniker and third full length overall. Comprised of Kim Izzy Sandvik (lead vocals), André Berger (guitar/backing vocals), Magnus Liseter (bass), Petter Chris. Lein (drums), and Thomas Eljarbų (guitar), Ghost Avenue take their queue from the crisp, crunchy, and melodic sounds of the '80s, so expect a wealth of guitar & vocal dominated anthems throughout this heavy & memorable album.

I know I've said this before, but a successful album is one that hits you right from the very first listen and immediately sticks with you, and Impact is a perfect example of that. The title cut and "Escape" kick things off in fine fashion, chock full of massive riffs, sizzling dual lead guitar, and Sandvik's powerful vocals. "Prison" ups the atmosphere and drama, while "Time Traveller" again delivers some terrific guitar riffs that will instantly get you headbanging. Sandvik again shines on the Savatage influenced "Dancing With the Devil", and he combines with Eljarbų to crank out some ultra catchy & hard hitting riffage on the driving melodic metal of "The Edge of Darkness". Fans of Metal Church will love the no-nonsense crunch of "Collateral Damage", a tune also noteworthy for the rumbling bass of Liseter, who is actually quite prominent throughout Impact.

For anyone who has fond memories of '80s hard rock & metal, Impact is easy to recommend, as it delivers 10 instantly memorable songs packed with plenty of guitar thunder, strong vocals, and hooks galore. Job well done guys!

Track Listing
01. Impact
02. Escape
03. The Prison
04. Time Traveller
05. Affection
06. Dancing With the Devil
07. Construction
08. The Edge of Darkness
09. Collateral Damage
10. The Ace

Added: February 4th 2017
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 2879
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by