Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Pride of Lions: Fearless

Jim Peterik: vocals, guitar and keyboards, Toby Hitchcock: vocals, Ed Breckenfeld – drums, Klem Hayes – bass, Mike Aquino – guitar with Christian Cullen – keyboards, are by now a pretty solidified line-up for Chicago's Pride of Lions and Fearless is the fifth studio album. The de facto leader is Peterik who like Brian Wilson appears to feel the music all the time. Unlike his former band Survivor Peterik is prodigious: POL, World Stage, Lifeforce, solo albums, books – you name it Peterik's all over it.

It appears that he's been listening to some of the criticism of recent POL albums (mostly that they've been veering to close to musical theatre,) hence, "I went back and listened closely to all the previous CDs to hear the strongest assets of each record: what was working and what could be improved…I feel it sticks closer to the template we set with our first cd, yet goes to new places musically as well like using a Kansas- style fiddle- played by Andrew Ohlrich- on the video/single All I See is You." The aforementioned lead single is highly indicative of both the band and the album as it features a great melody and the interplay between Peterk and main vocalist Toby Hitchcock who some find too theatrical in his delivery but I love.

I enjoy this album so much that I have actually played it in the car which is unusual as I usually drive around listening to spoken word texts – it's that good. Initially I didn't really like "The Tell" but over the last couple of days I have found myself walking down the street and in my mind I can hear Hitchcock singing, "They call it the Telllllllll," so I guess I even like the song I thought I didn't like! Seriously, Fearless is full of great songs although I guess you have to be in a bit of an 80s mindset or have to have enjoyed said decade to fully get maximum joy from this one. I now need to go away and stop "The Light In Your Eyes" from invading my brain!

Track Listing:
01. All I See Is You
02. The Tell
03. In Caricature
04. Silent Music
05. Fearless
06. Everlasting Love
07. Freedom Of The Night
08. The Light In Your Eyes
09. Rising Up
10. The Silence Says It All
11. Faster than A Prayer
12. Unmasking The Mystery

Added: February 3rd 2017
Reviewer: Simon Bray
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 1579
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by