Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

25 Yard Screamer: Keep Sending Signals

I first became aware of the Welch band 25 Yard Screamer in 2011 and their excellent album Until All Are One. I lost touch with the band until recently receiving their new platter Keep Sending Signals for review. In the band are Tom Bennett (guitars, keyboards), Matt Clarke (bass, keyboards, spoken word), Nick James (guitars, keyboards, fretless bass, vocals) and Donal Owen (drums and percussion).

On past releases the band has been compared to Enchant as Nick James does have a similar vocal tone to Ted Leonard. On the album heavy prog and progressive metal are both visited as the band has reworked four tunes from their back catalogue and have added four new ones as well.

The first two tracks "Keep Sending Signals Parts I and II" are a mixture of pastoral atmospheric prog and more intense heavy guitar riffage, sometimes muted in the background adding to the band's edgy moodiness. The vocals, sometimes with treated accents add to the overall trippiness of the sound. "Pulse" is a tune from their second album Approaching From An Oblique Angle and has an Enchant sound with a prominent bass and mellow acoustic parts to heavier sections before ending with a pastoral piano motif. "Pages" is another new track featuring delicate arpeggios, excellent vocal harmonies and dynamic guitar riffs. The general moodiness reminded me of something Porcupine Tree might do. "Pictures Within", taken from the first album Pictures From Within is a heavier progressive rock song centered on excellent guitar work whereas "I'm An Explosive " features wonderful lead and backing vocals and more fantastic twisty guitar riffs.

I really like this band and look forward to further explore their back catalogue. If you enjoy bands like Rush, Porcupine Tree and Enchant you should find Keep Sending Signals a very intriguing prospect indeed.

Track Listing:
1. Keep Sending Signals (1)
2. Keep Sending Signals (2)
3. Pulse
4. Pages
5. Pictures Within
6. I'm An Explosive
7. A Memory
8. No Beautiful View

Added: February 1st 2017
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 1965
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by