Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Krautzone: The Complete Works

Krautzone is a German band, as the name would suggest consisting of members from the bands Electric Moon and Zone Six. Leading the way is Sula Bassana (synthesizers and organ) as well as Onkel Kaktus (bass, kalimba), Modulfix (synthesizers), Rainer Neeff (guitar) and Komet Lulu (drums).

The musicians got together in an impromptu fashion and released three albums of cosmic space rock; Kosmische Rituale (2011), Superkraut (2015) and Spiritual Retreat (2015). Now you can hear all three albums with The Complete Works and I have to say this album is a real head trip.

The first disc begins with "Liebe", an excellent synth heavy krautrock track that builds in intensity as the droning synths come through in waves and the metallic guitar chords are almost dirge like as the song remains at a slow pace. The next track "Kosmische Rituale" will enthrall with its heavy bass, bursts of guitar chords and an hypnotic beat that quickens into a tribal sound as the music progresses. At over twenty minutes "Only Fools Rush In" is a true epic where cymbals crash with metallic slabs of guitar and percolating synthesizers while droning electronics will take the listener on another cosmic joyride. Just sit back and enjoy the build as the music slowly unfolds.

Disc two begins with the heavy "Superkraut I" featuring shimmering synth sequences and heavily distorted riffs. The last song is the massive forty-three minute "Spiritual Retreat" beginning with a repeating hypnotic drum beat and distorted psychedelic guitar chords. The wall of sound begins to ease off as the psychedelic jam continues with guitar leading the way. This one is as mind altering as they come and the guitar improvisation is fabulous throughout.

To get maximum effect it goes without saying these discs should be listened to uninterrupted and preferably on a good pair of headphones. Sometimes the best trips are taken close to home. Released on Sulatron Records.

Track Listing:
CD 1:
1. Liebe (12:44)
2. Kosmische Rituale (9:06)
3. Only Fools Rush In (20:40)
4. Schwebung (6:55)

CD 2:
1. Superkraut I (11:17)
2. Superkraut II (11:01)
3. Spiritual Retreat (43:40)

Added: January 31st 2017
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 2320
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by