Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Rudy Royston Trio: Rise of Orion

Texas born Rudy Royston worked with trumpeter Ron Miles before moving to New York City in 2006. Throughout the years Royston has worked with some of the biggest names in jazz and has appeared as a sideman on many albums. It was in New York where he met Japanese bassist Yasushi Nakamura and sax player Jon Irabagon who has steadily been building his reputation in the New York jazz scene. The trio recently released Rise of Orion, Royston's second album as a band leader. His first album 303 was released in 2014.

Rise of Orion will likely take a few listens to hear everything on offer as it is quite a complex album. All three musicians are exceptional talents and have made an album where all three shine. The disc begins with the title track and the bass and drum groove is stellar. The drums are subtle yet busy as the saxophone adds the melodic component. Royston leads the trio through his tempo changes and meter shifts often going from a gentle tapping to a ferocious intensity where his skill is on full display. For a bluesier sound try "Alnitak" or for a more complex take on jazz dig into the dynamic "Nautical" where the bass and drum solos are certainly worth a listen. On "Sister Mother Clara", a tribute to Royston's mother, the playing is a little more tender whereas "Dido's Lament" starts slow and serene before breaking into a frenzied and chaotic jam session half way through. The sax work in the nine minute "Make A Smile For Me" is another highlight.

For jazz fans who appreciate the exploratory side of the genre Rise of Orion will be an album you should definitely check out. To learn more about Rudy Royston click on the link below.

Track Listing:
1. Rise of Orion (4:44)
2. Nautical (7:32)
3. Alnitak (1:42)
4. Sister Mother Clara (5:42)
5. Man O To (7:10)
6. Alnilam (1:37)
7. Make A Smile For Me (9:03)
8. Kolbe War (6:42)
9. River Styx (1:09)
10. Dido's Lament (9:26)
11. Mintaka (1:25)
12. We Had It All (9:21)
13. Belt (0:57)

Added: January 29th 2017
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Artist's Official Site
Hits: 1236
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by