Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Synergy Protocol: Odd To Get Even

I discovered a lot of new music in 2016 and the latest in the batch is progressive metal band Synergy Protocol hailing from the Netherlands. The beginnings of the band goes back a few years as musicians continuously came and went before settling on their current lineup in 2014, sans the lead singer. That same year the band released their demo three song EP and you can hear those songs and five others on their debut full length titled Odd To Get Even.

I have to say this is a really enjoyable progressive metal album with nods to symphonic and '80s style metal. There are no songs under five minutes and two over ten so you can well imagine there are plenty of moments for progressive complexity and fine musicianship to come through in the music. Especially on the longer tracks the shifting moods and change ups add much more interest than your typical metal band. The first track "In The Name Of" being a prime example. Beginning with a soft layer of keyboards the riffs enter with heightened drama soon developing into a melodic progression that is totally addictive. Add to that some neoclassical shredding, clean guitar parts, chugging riffs at varying tempos and moody atmospheric layers led by Martinez's beautifully melodic vocals and you have the makings of a fine progressive rock/metal track. On "Flashback" the riffs come in fast before the soundscape is softened by angelic lead vocals. Swirling background synths and alternating heavy and soft passages tie it all together. "Clockwise" is another example of the band incorporating heavy hitting metal with more pastoral sections. The drums and guitars really get a work out in this one. With "Just A Man" the style is quite different, beginning with a neat synth line and strong guitar riffs before abruptly changing into a dance-like techno sound. As with most of these tracks lighter and heavier soundscapes are explored.

Odd To Get Even is an excellent progressive metal/heavy rock album from a band forging their own sound which is always a good thing. Its complexity should be enough to satisfy many progressive music fans without sounding overly pretentious. Hopefully the band can build on this and deliver more quality music in the future.

Band members:
Mark Roelofs (guitars and vocals)
Wim Smits (bass and vocals)
Laura Martinez (vocals)
Patrick van Mourik (drums, percussion and vocals)
Maarten Heeringa (guitars and vocals)

Track Listing:
1. In The Name Of (11:11)
2. Flashback (5:40)
3. Clockwise (6:34)
4. Just A man (7:40)
5. Flight From Terra (8:34)
6. Final Chaos (7:32)
7. Puppet On A String (5:27)
8. Odd To Get Even (10:41)

Added: January 23rd 2017
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 1472
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by