Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Ambrosio/Meissner: Moments In Time

Bass player David Ambrosio has been a veteran of the New York City jazz scene for quite a long time and has appeared as a sideman on many releases over the years. His debut album as a leader titled Gone was released in 2014. Appearing on that album was drummer Russ Meissner. The duo are at it again on their latest disc Moments In Time. The rest of band includes Loren Stillman (alto saxophone), Matt Renzi (tenor saxophone, English horn), Leonard Thompson (piano) and Nate Radley (guitar).

This is one of those jazz albums that takes a little while to sink in as the players have such finesse and nuance. The music often builds in quiet contemplation and there is much happening just below the surface. Take the first track "Permaculture". Moody piano chords and very soft drums, the brushwork as delicate as a feather, begins the piece in a calm and serene way. Building ever so slightly, the music adds layers of surreal sounds, especially the English horn and subtle guitar passages. Soon a chaotic and frenzied saxophone takes the sound in an improvised direction, quite experimental in nature. It's a complex track and one of many you will find on this disc. Next is the more conventional "Hourglass" featuring lovely saxophone and English horn. On "No V" Meissner and Ambrosio lay down an excellent groove allowing the rest of the players to shine in their solo spots including some stellar horn, saxophone and guitar. The bass and drums near song's end are particularly impressive. Another introspective offering is the serene "First Time On The Moon" featuring gorgeous woodwinds and soft piano interludes. Perhaps the most intriguing listen is the title track clocking in at just over nine minutes. The slow building of layers is both imaginative and interesting as each musician is greatly involved in the song's high degree of complexity.

Moments In Time is a modern and complex jazz album that will appeal to serious jazz fans. It may take a few listens to sink in but the reward will be worth it in the end.

Track Listing:
1. Permaculture (6:24)
2. Hourglass (6:33)
3. No V (7:55)
4. First Time On The Moon (7:07)
5. 12th Street (4:34)
6. Far West (9:16)
7. Rogers Ave (9:49)
8. Moments In Time (9:15)
9. Vibey 7 (4:40)

Added: January 23rd 2017
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Artist Official Site
Hits: 886
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by