Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Tygers of Pan Tang: Tygers of Pan Tang

Much like legendary NWOBHM act Diamond Head made a huge comeback in early 2016 with their excellent self-titled release, cohorts Tygers of Pan Tang are set to the do the same here a year later with this scorching set of brand new hard rock & metal songs. Founding member & guitarist Robb Weir has himself a new Tygers line-up ready to take over the world, bringing on board guitar player Micky Crystal (who sounds a hell of a lot like John Sykes), Joey Tempest meets Steven Tyler vocalist Jacopo Meille, bassist Gav Gray, and drummer Craig Ellis. Tygers of Pan Tang was produced by Soren Andersen and mixed by Harem Scarem's Harry Hess, resulting in a killer sounding album that's sure to bring this band back to the forefront of the heavy music scene.

"Only the Brave" and "Dust" bust out of the gates with a wealth of super crunchy riffs, blazing guitar solos, catchy melodies, and loads of attitude. The sing along "Glad Rags" has a bluesy hard rock swagger not far removed from vintage Aerosmith or Guns 'n' Roses, while "Never Give In" could have easily been a leftover from the classic Tygers album Spellbound, Meille soaring to the heavens amid a furious riffing assault courtesy of Weir & Crystal. "The Reason Why" approaches mid '80s Whitesnake ballad territory, catchy with lots of atmosphere, while "Do It Again" again dials up the hi-octane riffs for a furious slice of vintage hard rock majesty. Remember the early '70s Kiki Dee pop hit "I Got the Music in Me"? Well, the Tygers give a metallic spin to this old classic song, and it's a hell of a lot of fun, Meille singing up a storm and enjoying every minute of it. "Blood Red Sky" offers some progressive elements to the 2017 Tygers formula as well as HEAVY riffs, resulting in one of the albums must hear tracks, and "The Devil You Know" closes out the album with tons of groove and another fantastic vocal performance from Meille, who fits in with this band so well.

The New Wave of British Heavy Metal is alive and well these days, with bands like Diamond Head, Satan, Praying Mantis, and Tygers of Pan Tang putting out killer new albums that recall their glory days of 35 years ago. The Tygers have themselves a complete winner here, an awesome sounding album with memorable songs, incredible guitar work, and fantastic vocals. Do not miss this one!!

See more about this release on our recent YouTube show!

Track Listing
01_Only The Brave
03_Glad Rags
04_Never Give In
05_The Reason Why
06_Do It Again
07_I Got The Music In Me
08_Praying For A Miracle
09_Blood Red Sky
10_Angel In Disguise
11_The Devil You Know

Added: January 14th 2017
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 2444
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by