Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Awakening Orchestra, The: Interlude: Atticus Live! The Music Of Jesse Lewis

Kyle Saulnier is an American composer and arranger and in this debut recording leads The Awakening Orchestra through renditions of guitarist Jesse Lewis and his release Atticus which originally came out in 2008. This album is titled Atticus Live! and features a huge ensemble cast of players dabbling in reeds, trumpets, trombones and rhythms as well as Jesse Lewis on guitar. There are nine tracks and an hours' worth of music so there is a lot to absorb. What you will find is a fusion of big band jazz and rock elements which makes for a unique and original slab of modern music while still adhering to some of the past jazz greats.

I haven't heard Lewis' original recording but this reworking is really good stuff. The first track "Looking Glass" is short but very worthy of your attention filled with crystal clean guitar and fluttering percussion. "Build!" starts gently with a tinkling of piano and wisps of percussion, eventually brimming with a full palette of sound as the brass instruments rise out of the depths becoming more chaotic and intense. "The Adventures Of Dirt McGillicuddy" features a catchy repeating guitar line and quirky off kilter meters. A full big band sound with bluesy guitar soloing is as tasty as this album gets. "Atticus" is highlighted by Nadje Noordhuis's wonderful flugelhorn while "The Robert Frost Experiment" starts with big band horns before calmer moments ensue. Pretty acoustic guitar and a searing electric lead with tricky rhythms are album highlights. The beautiful ending alto sax solo is absolutely spellbinding.

Rest assured there are no duds here as Atticus Live! is a richly varied disc that will reap rewards after every spin. Music fans who like a little rock mixed into their jazz should certainly pay attention.

Track Listing:
1. Looking Glass (2:02)
2. Build! (2:43)
3. The Adventures Of Dirt McGillicuddy (7:16)
4. Atticus (12:15)
5. The Robert Frost Experiment (9:46)
6. Quiet (8:11)
7. Snowflake (5:46)
8. Turbulence Is Bliss (6:31)
9. The Pasture (You Come Too) (5:37)

Added: January 9th 2017
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 1371
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by