Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Outlaws: Legacy Live

Despite the death of founding guitarist/vocalist Hughie Thomasson a number of years ago, Southern Rock legends the Outlaws have continued to soldier on, led by co-founder Henry Paul (lead vocals, guitar) and Monte Yoho (drums), and rounded out here on this new live set recorded in 2015 by Steve Grisham (lead guitar), Chris Anderson (lead guitar), Randy Threet (bass), and Dave Robbins (keyboards). This particular 2CD live set was recorded on the bands 40th Anniversary tour last year, and contains a wealth of classics from their lengthy discography as well as selections from their 2012 comeback album It's About Pride. Expect plenty of musical fireworks and the bands penchant for lush vocal layers across these 20 tracks.

The bands three pronged guitar attack is in fine form throughout, with Paul generally taking rhythm duties on electric & acoustic, leaving plenty of space for Grisham and Anderson to fire off boatloads of white hot lead guitar work. Many Outlaws signature tunes are here, including the melodic country rocker "There Goes Another Love Song", "Hurry Sundown", the unforgettable "Holiday", catchy tracks "Gunsmoke", "Song in the Breeze", "Knoxville Girl", "Girl From Ohio", "Freeborn Man", and "South Carolina", as well as the mandtatory extended guitar jammers "Ghost Riders" and "Green Grass & High Tides Forever". Paul's excellent "Grey Ghost" is here as well, the title track off his classic Henry Paul Band debut, 11+ minutes of gorgeous vocal harmonies and sizzling lead guitar work, as is "So Long", another unforgettable song off that memorable debut. With all the members contributing backing vocals, I can't stress enough how impressive the vocal arrangements are executed here, each tune lush with soaring vocal harmonies that are just as jaw dropping as the dual lead guitar attack. Paul himself is in fine form, his lead vocals still strong after all these years. The It's About Pride album is well represented as well, the band featuring the title cut, "Born to Be Bad", "Trail of Tears", and "Hiding Out in Tennessee" in the set, each tune slotting alongside the classics quite nicely.

Along with Lynyrd Skynyrd, Charlie Daniels Band, .38 Special, Molly Hatchet, Blackfoot, The Marshall Tucker Band, Allman Brothers Band, and Atlanta Rhythm Section, the Outlaws have mainstays on the Southern Rock scene for well over four decades, and they show no signs of slowing down. This is a sensational live set chock full of sizzling guitar jams and memorable vocal arrangements, showcasing the best material of their early years as well as the more recent output. A live album not to be missed by any fan!

See more about this release on our recent YouTube show!

Track Listing
Disc: 1
1. There Goes Another Love Song
2. Hurry Sundown
3. Hidin Out In Tennessee
4. Freeborn Man
5. Born To Be Bad
6. Song In The Breeze
7. Girl From Ohio
8. Holiday
9. Gunsmoke
10. Grey Ghost

Disc: 2
1. South Carolina
2. So Long
3. Prisoner
4. Cold Harbor
5. Trail Of Tears
6. It's About Pride
7. Waterhole
8. Knoxville Girl
9. Green Grass & High Tides Forever
10. Ghost Riders

Added: December 3rd 2016
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 1319
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by