Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Destrage: A Means to No End

What do you get when you combine melody with bombastic and outer worldly musicianship? You get the 4th full length release from Milan, Italy's Destrage. A Means to No End (Metal Blade Records) is a hyper combination of technical, groove-laden, Math Metal with copious amounts of medley that makes this record a complete monster!

13 tracks of modern day Metal bad ass-ness in the vein of Between The Buried And Me, Threat Signal and Lamb of God. Now, I use these bands as merely a reference point because Destrage have managed to conger up one of the most original and unorthodox albums of 2016. Consisting of vocalist Paolo Colavolpe, guitarists Matteo Di Gioia and Ralph Guido Salati, bassist Gabriel Pignata, and drummer Federico Paulovich, Destrage from start to finish have delivered a riveting record. Full of muscular riffs, shred-o-riffic and interesting guitar playing, as well as catchy melodies and an uber tight and off kiltered rhythm section, A Means to No End is an emotionally charged, complex record that plays by its own rules. Tracks like the single, "Symphony of the Ego" with its Animals As Leaders type tapping guitar intro, serves up the angle of awesome musicianship from the word go. But its the vocal melody and hooks combined with that musician virtuosity that sets Destrage apart. "Symphony" is one of the craziest, heavy and catchy songs that you'll hear this year.

When an album begins with a tranquil guitar interlude and then gives way to one of the best and off the wall Metal releases of the year, you tend to take notice. There is not a dud on A Means to No End and in fact each tune offers something completely interesting. From the tongue in cheek humor and progressiveness of, "Blah, Blah" to the full out riffing on "The Flight", everything these guys throw at you on this record is pretty damn stellar. Excellent vocals, shred guitar and great catchy melodic songs delivered with ferocity, dexterity and also top notch production. Destrage have a unique voice, as well as a personality to their music that is infectious.

Track Listing:
  1. A Means to No End
  2. Don't Stare at the Edge
  3. Symphony of the Ego
  4. Silent Consent
  5. The Flight
  6. Dreamers
  7. Ending to a Means
  8. Peacefully Lost
  9. Not Everything Is Said
  10. To Be Tolerated
  11. Blah Blah
  12. A Promise, A Debt
  13. Abandon to Random

Added: December 1st 2016
Reviewer: Butch Jones
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 1690
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by