Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Piledriver: Brothers in Boogie

Apparently there are more than a few Status Quo tribute bands named Piledriver existing today, this particular one hailing from Germany, where they've been paying homage to that legendary British band since the mid '90s. Brothers in Boogie is their third release, this time a mostly all-original collection of songs produced by none other than former Accept drummer & UDO guitarist Stefan Kauffmann. The current line-up of the band consists of Peter Wagner (guitar and vocals), Michael Sommerhoff (guitar and vocals), Hans in 't Zandt (Drums), Marc Herrmann (Bass), and Rudi Peeters (Keyboards).

While Piledriver still manage to inject their original music with much of that hard rocking boogie that Status Quo are famous for, it almost seems as if the band also have a little love for Deep Purple, which you can hear quite clearly on "Good Times" and "Rock in a Crossfire Hurricane" thanks to some heavy, bluesy riffs and swirling Hammond organ. "Natural Born Rockers" approaches the NWOBHM sounds of Saxon or Diamond Head, complete with some heavy guitar riffs and a darker tone, while "One Way to Rock", "Fat Rat Boogie", "Lollipop Lolita", and "Don't Think it Matters" all churn out meaty, upbeat boogie styled romps for any fan of vintage Status Quo. The lengthy ballad "Last Words" offers up another side to the band, as they blend emotional pop with prog and toss in some lush acoustic guitars with stinging electric leads and layers of passionate vocals.

Sometimes, good old-fashioned styled hard rock & boogie is the right recipe for questionable times, which is what makes Brothers in Boogie such an enjoyable release. Just pop this bad boy in, crank up the volume, and get your air guitar's that simple folks!

Track Listing
1 One Way To Rock 3:39
2 Together 3:44
3 Rock In A Crossfire-Hurricane 4:33
4 Good Times 4:45
5 Natural Born Rockers 5:31
6 Fat Rat Boogie 6:08
7 Mountain 5:35
8 Frantic Groove 1:38
9 Don't Think It Matters 4:36
10 Drifting Away 5:18
11 Queen Obscene 5:21
12 Lollipop Lolita 4:37
13 Last Words 8:21
Bonus Tracks
14 Rock In A Crossfire-Hurricane (Single Version) 3:28
15 Last Words (Single Version)

Added: November 24th 2016
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 2084
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by