Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Polterchrist: Engulfed By The Swarm

Cool name and a pretty decent concept of how to blend elements o' black and death metal and how to be an American band that can retain some European metal sensibilities without sounding like a complete effin' rip-off. That said there are times where the band's level of uniqueness doesn't hold its own. For every brutal riff such as the one found on the opening "Alone," there are brutal but ultimately uninteresting ones such as that found on the limp "The Sun Will Burn Black." But even that track and some of the other weaker material at least contains some cool lead guitar work, which is ultimately confusing but also reason enough to believe that this band has potential. Act One, Scene One of a story that will no doubt prove compelling and impactful by the time the final curtain falls? You be the judge. Worth writing about, not writing off.

Track Listing:
1. Alone (3:31)
2. The Sun Will Turn Black (4:53)
3. Terminal (5:29)
4. Lies ... Pain ... Hate (5:26)
5. The Art of Ferocity (5: 34)
6. Here We Lie (5:11)
7. Engulfed By The Swarm (5:41)
8. Desolate Paradise (3:24)
9. The Battle (6:19)
Total Time: 45:28

Added: December 6th 2004
Reviewer: Jedd Beaudoin
Related Link: More Information
Hits: 3102
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by