Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

FM: Indiscreet 30

I feel like I should mention that I own the original version of Indiscreet on vinyl and actually gave it a spin recently and reminded myself of how splendid an album it really is. I have seen FM on numerous occasions and therefore can be considered a bit of a fan. Like many others I assume, my initial thought was why do this given the run of success that the band currently finds itself on?

The band was asked many times to consider re-recording some of these tracks using today's modern technology and recording techniques and giving the songs the sound of FM as it is today powered by newish guitarist Jim Kirkpatrick, keyboard player Jem Davis alongside original members Pete Jupp – drums and backing vocals, Merv Goldsworthy – bass and backing vocals and the incomparable Steve Overland - lead vocals and rhythm guitar. "We are not trying to recreate the original but this is our interpretation played by FM as we are today with the sound of FM 2016" says Goldsworthy.

Indiscreet 30 won't replace the original version in my heart or indeed in my collection (different formats for a start) but it is a tremendous album and it is genuinely intriguing to hear such well known songs given a modern sheen. Steve Overland still sings like a God and oh…those songs…pure magic. I may quibble about some of the bonus tracks – I've already got many of them but this is an entirely worthwhile enterprise that may be bathed in nostalgia but highlights a band who remain at the very top of their game.

Track Listing:
  1. That Girl
  2. Other Side of Midnight
  3. Love Lies Dying
  4. I Belong To the Night
  5. American Girls
  6. Hotwired
  7. Face to Face
  8. Frozen Heart
  9. Heart of the Matter
  10. Let Love Be the Leader (*)
  11. Running On Empty (*)
  12. Rainbow's End (*)
  13. Shot In The Dark (*)
  14. Bad That's Good In You (*)
  15. Love & Hate (*)
  16. That Girl (Acoustic Version) (*)
  17. (*) bonus tracks

Added: November 9th 2016
Reviewer: Simon Bray
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 1583
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by