Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Iron Mask: Diabolica

A new European metal album that deserves not to go by unnoticed, and caters very well to power metal fans is Diabolica. Diabolical is the sixth album by Belgian neoclassical melodic power metal band Iron Mask, and is the first with vocalist Diego Valdez (Helker) who is a positive addition. Since its formation in 2002 and despite many changes guitarist and the driving force behind the group Dushan Petrossi (Magic Kingdom) has kept the albums flowing, and now Iron Mask are back with a capable line-up and another strong album that follows 2013's Fifth Son of Winterdoom. That one had Mark Boals (ex. Malmsteen, Ring Of Fire) on vocals and is an album that I remember most fondly for the excellent closing track "The Picture Of Dorian Gray". While I don't think that any song on Diabolica quite rivals that particular track it's still the better album of the two when comparing the others.

History has once again played a role in the inspiration for this new Iron Mask album and as expected Petrossi's' nimble guitar work is at the forefront with solos a plenty. Fans of Ynqwie Malmsteen's more memorable albums and similar shredders should also check out Diabolica as there is that and more right here, like on the brisk starter to the album as Iron Mask launches into the prompt power metal of "I Don't Forget, I Don't Forgive"and maintain the energy levels for "Doctor Faust", "Galileo" has a classic feel as do others on this album and then there's the melodic rocker "The First And The Last". Iron Mask are another group to save the longest track for last with "Cursed In The Devil's Mill" which concludes quite a lengthy album overall, and despite Diablica's duration there is enough variation to ensure that it doesn't get tedious. Diablica is a fairly safe album by Iron Fire so for fans of their prior albums it's an easy purchase.

Track Listing
1. I Don't Forget, I Don't Forgive
2. Doctor Faust
3. Galileo
4. Oliver Twist
5. March 666
6. All For Metal
7. The Rebellion Of Lucifer
8. The First And The Last
9. Diabolica
10. Ararat
11. Flying Fortress
12. Cursed In The Devil's Mill

Added: November 5th 2016
Reviewer: Scott Jessup
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 1570
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by