Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

TCP: Temporal Chaos

TCP (Temporal Chaos Theory) makes very intelligent music. Although the band incorporates Chaos Theory in their name, you know randomness and disorder, I wouldn't exactly call this music chaotic but there are certainly elements of complexity and a high degree of creativity is involved. More on the music in a bit.

The Eastern US band released their first album The Way in 2009 and followed it up with Fantastic Dreamer in 2011. Both were very strong discs which you can find reviewed on this site. The band took a bit of a break but in July of this year released their third album Temporal Chaos. In the band are Glenn Arpino (keyboards), Henry Tarnecky (vocals, keyboards), Jack Wright (guitars, drums, bass) and Blake Tobias (bass, keyboards). Guests include vocalist Nicole Tarnecky who sings on four tracks and bassist Tom Shiben providing the bottom end on one track.

Ok, so what do you get with this latest platter? Well, I suppose the main influence has to be early '70s Genesis and a big reason for that is Tarnecky's lead vocals which bear an uncanny resemblance to Peter Gabriel. Musically speaking the band is able to stretch out often traversing different movements and structures within the same song. Although the sound of the '70s is strong with this disc there is also a modern prog rock vibe at work, very arty and even jazzy at times. Heavy prog also crops up in the excellent "Fantasize / Into The Blue" with a heavy dose of modern rock as well. Here Tarnecky adds some extra vitriol to emphasize the heavier vibe and the riff progressions are always interesting and urgent before mellower arpeggios and atmospheric keyboards add a moment of calm. On the first track "Torn Apart 1000 Sparks" a delicious guitar groove and Tarnecky's dynamic vocal delivery ensure a very enjoyable three minutes. On "Forest Of Lovelies" the vocal melody is very catchy amidst changes in tempo and sweeping keyboards. The song traverses different themes and vistas eventually heading into more modern heavy prog with some fantastic guitar. The keyboards and guitar get equal billing. With "Impetus" the guitar and keyboards are gorgeous as the music is relatively gentle although no less complicated as the band really hit their stride. The last track "In The Flame" is a symphonic delight with huge keyboard swells and at times an almost prog metal sound in the riffs. Throughout its course heavy and lighter soundscapes, dynamic stop/starts, cool samples and effects and heady atmospheric guitar exploits take the listener in unexpected directions.

For me, Temporal Chaos is their strongest album to date and is a must listen for any fan of '70s prog. Highly recommended!

Track Listing:
1. Torn Apart 1000 Sparks (3:17)
2. Forest Of Lovelies (8:54)
3. Impetus (9:43)
4. The Forces (6:17)
5. Chrysalis (5:48)
6. Fantasize / Into The Blue (12:00)
7. Third Eye Limited (4:38)
8. In The Flame (11:05)

Added: October 29th 2016
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 1802
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by