Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Tyketto: Reach

I seem to have been in somewhat of a minority in terms of Tyketto's 2012 Dig in Deep album which I very much enjoyed, gave a big four and a quarter stars (although I am not certain I meant to go that high) to and said, "Dig in Deep is full of equally great songs and even the much criticised production suits the earthy nature of the album which I heartily recommend." Many disagreed but I am still of the opinion that the album holds up well especially the magnificent "Here's Hoping it Hurts."

In addition to vocalist Danny Vaughn and drummer and founding member Michael Clayton Arbeeny, the 2016 line-up includes Chris Green (guitars and vocals), Ged Rylands (keyboards and vocals) and Chris Childs (bass) and Vaughn says that, "we have a new energy, some incredible new members, and a fresh outlook toward the future. All of us have pushed each other beyond our limits to make what we feel is a pinnacle record in our catalogue." Whether or not long term fans agree with that assessment is open to debate, however, I would suggest that Reach, erm, reaches out more to the faithful than Dig in Deep ever did.

The first five tracks are all excellent and surprisingly heavy thanks mainly to a superlative effort from Chris Green and the expected melodies and biting lyrics. Perhaps the greatest quality of Reach is that it sounds more like an organic evolution of Tyketto than a Danny Vaughn solo effort (not that there's anything wrong with his solo material) with the possible exception of the ballad "Letting Go" which synthesizes the two metaphorical stools. I'd argue that the album could have ended with "Scream" but this is a quality release by a quality band.

Track Listing:
1. Reach
2. Big Money
3. Kick like a Mule
4. Circle the Wagons
5. I Need It Now
6. Tearing Down the Sky
7. Letting Go
8. The Fastest Man Alive
9. Remember My Name
10. Sparks Will Fly
11. Scream
12. The Run
Bonus track (Digital Release Only)
13. Precious Little Gets Away

Added: October 19th 2016
Reviewer: Simon Bray
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 1841
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by