Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Fringe, The: The Fringe

Sometimes the words super group are overused when describing bands but in this case the words ring true. The Fringe has Randy McStine (Lo-Fi Resistance, The Pink Floyd Experience) on guitars and vocals, Jonas Reingold (The Flower Kings, Karmakanic) on bass and backing vocals and Nick D'Virgilio (Spock's Beard, Big Big Train) on drums and vocals. Their self-titled debut was released a couple months back and let me tell you this power trio really kicks it up a notch. To say this music is overtly progressive might be a stretch but that doesn't matter in the slightest when the songs are this strong. Of course, with these three musicians it should come as no surprise the musicianship is outstanding. This is truly a band with no weak links as both the playing and vocals are excellent.

Tasty guitar begins the opening track "You" where I hear a bit of Tiles' influence. The instruments are clear and well defined with moody guitar chords, solid time keeping from D'Virgilio and a ripping bass solo. The axe work throughout the disc is magnificent. The heavy proggy rock of "Opening Day" is another great track showcasing the band's tightness going from light to heavy with fluidic ease. More great moments include the addictive chorus in "A Second Or Two" and the most progressive track "Flare" highlighting the band's modern sounding riffs with a throwback to "Distant Early Warning" period Rush. Heavy modern prog with touches of ambient moodiness will have prog fans wanting more. One of the catchiest tunes has to be "Go" where the band channel Beatles-like harmonies and a gorgeous melody.

The last track "Yours To Steal" is another wonderful tune with more Beatles' influenced lead and backing vocals and an unreal Gilmour inspired guitar solo. Really a great way to end the album.

The Fringe have made one of the best albums of the year thus far and given the quality of releases to hit the shelves that is no mean feat. Highly recommended.

Track Listing:
1. You (4:54)
2. Opening Day (4:14)
3. A Second Or Two (3:55)
4. Flare (9:56)
5. Go (4:19)
6. My Greatest Invention (3:44)
7. Snake Eyes (3:32)
8. Yours To Steal (7:48)

Added: October 9th 2016
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 1960
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by