Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Mimes On Rollercoasters: Rock It!

In 2015 I was somewhat taken aback upon hearing Mimes On Rollercoasters for the first time. I mean that in a good way as their third effort 3 was one of the nice surprises of 2015. Well, a year later the band is back with their fourth release Rock It! and this time the concept is a little different. The first three albums, although I have yet to hear the first two, followed the trials and tribulations of Marcel and Mimi Mime. The new record goes for a different approach delving into aspects which are important to songwriter and leader Mark Ruester including space travel, getting older and living in Middle Class America. This seems particularly important considering the upcoming election in the states.

The lineup remains the same and includes Mark Ruester (acoustic guitar, bass, keyboards, percussion, vocals), Greg Teresi (electric guitar), Chessie Ruester (flute) and Adeline Ruester (alto saxophone).

Upon first listen what struck me immediately was the melodic and tuneful nature of the music. Much like their last album the melodies have that ability to stick with the listener long after the music stops. The first track "Countdown" is a prime example. Swells of orchestration and electronic elements, including processed vocals, recalls The Buggles making this a delicious concoction of pop inflected prog. Soaring lead guitar highlights "Breathe" a tune lamenting the stifling nature of living in middle class America. The guitar tone in "Weightless" has some extra bite and the amalgamation of pop and prog strongly reminds of Phideaux, which is meant as a huge compliment. In fact, "All Systems Down" with its excellent vocal melody and elements of symphonic prog also has elements in common with the aforementioned artist.

Rock It! certainly continues the band's foray into pop laden symphonic prog and if given half the chance would appeal to a wide spectrum of music listeners. Give it a listen and if you like what you hear spread the word. Hopefully the band will gain some new fans.

Track Listing:
1. Countdown (3:26)
2. Breathe (4:58)
3. Weightless (3:55)
4. All Systems Down (5:36)
5. Near Earth Orbit (4:32)
6. After Burn (2:18)
7. Different Worlds (4:19)
8. Old Mountain Train (3:07)
9. Beyond The Solar System (5:10)
10. Near Earth Orbit (Instrumental) (5:04)

Added: October 7th 2016
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 1490
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by