Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Sarache, Abraham: The Gardener

This is one of the more interesting releases I have heard in a while. Abraham Sarache hails from The Netherlands and I believe The Gardener is his first release. The information in the CD booklet was lacking as to the musicians on the album but I believe Sarache plays most of it himself adding piano, drums, guitar, bass, ukulele and cautro, a Venezuelan stringed instrument.

The disc is about relationships, each song delving into that special bond between two people. Not a standard prog concept but this is anything but a standard prog album. One might argue this is more in the alternative rock genre with progressive undertones here and there. There are two things that make this music unique, Sarache's emotive vocal delivery and his use of acoustic instrumentation. First the vocals. He clearly seems to be influenced by Pain Of Salvation's Daniel Gildenlöw. Technically, he may not be the best singer around but the emotion he brings to the table cannot be overstated. His unique vocals are a big part of the album's unique sound and bring a certain dramatic flair to the table. To go along with the vocals the album showcases some excellent acoustic sounds, from acoustic guitar to ukulele. Given the use of so much acoustic instrumentation you might think this a mellow album but this is not the case. It is actually quite heavy sounding as dense musical layers make up the sound palette. The most progressive track is "Silence" where delicate acoustic picking and strumming combine with wild electric guitar soli. The intensity comes through in waves of sound and eases off before beginning the entire process again. The combination of acoustic and electric sounds is absolutely gripping.

There are no epic songs here but that doesn't mean the music is any less imaginative. Tricky rhythmic changes and creative song structures can be found throughout making The Gardener a truly rewarding listen. Recommended for fans of proggy alternative rock music.

Track Listing:
1. The Crush: Eyes of Fire
2. Unwrap the Masks: Reflections
3. First Round: Anymore
4. Hope: Expect the Worst
5. Silence: A Sacred Place
6. The Hunt: Always with You
7. Sweetness & Honesty: Confession
8. Acceptance: Escapism
9. Closure: Fear is a World for Fools

Added: October 2nd 2016
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Artist's Official Site
Hits: 2009
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by