Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Prasanna: All Terrain Guitar

Born in Tiruchirappalli, India, Prasanna is an internationally renowned guitarist having released several film scores, over fifteen solo albums as a leader and is also an integral part of the bands Raga Metal Conversions, Ragabop Trio and Tirtha. He has also performed with many great musicians like Omar Hakim, Dweezil Zappa and Alex Acuna plus many others.

The new album titled All Terrain Guitar demonstrates just how multi-faceted a musician he is. Throughout his works Prasanna has explored different genres including jazz, metal and Carnatic music (classical music of Southern India).

I know I have reiterated these words more than once in these pages but it absolutely astounds me just how many talented musicians there are out there and you can add Prasanna to the list.

The disc opens with the jazzy "Springtime in New York" showcasing mind-bending guitar and bass work. The playing is both fluid and clean with each note clean and clear. The drumming is busy yet tasteful propelling the music forward. The bass and guitar solos are exceptional and I was quite literally blown away. It doesn't let up on the next track "Song for the Wind" although this one isn't quite as intense. Jazzy Indian music with delicate acoustic guitar and softly hued chords filling the background and excellent trumpet and sax solos. The band really get their groove on near song's end with some fiery playing by all involved. Classic Indian sounds can be heard on "Lava" and "Nap of the Earth" with the former featuring outstanding electric guitar and the latter displaying an awesome groove.

That's just the first four tracks, there are five others that are just as noteworthy making All Terrain Guitar a special album indeed.

Track Listing:
1. Springtime In New York (5:14)
2. Song for the Wind (7:07)
3. Lava (4:05)
4. Nap of the Earth (5:01)
5. Pinch Pennies in Monaco (6:36)
6. 31 (8:19)
7. Final Approach (9:13)
8. Electron Dance (5:39)
9. The Keyword is Love (6:05)

Added: September 25th 2016
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Artist's Official Site
Hits: 2658
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by